Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Biomedical Engineering Research Guide

Resources for conducting research in biomedical engineering. Last updates: 8/16/21.

Databases

Additional Databases

If addition to the databases listed here, there are a number of additional databases available in Medicine and Engineering.

Finding Full Text Articles

Note: You cannot use the catalog to find individual articles within a journal. For this you must search in the journal itself or use an article database.

To find the full text of articles:

  1. First, while in the database, look for the white full text buttons.    White full text button.
  2. Check the A to Z Electronic Journal list.
  3. Search the MSU Libraries Catalog.
    1. Enter the NAME of JOURNAL.
    2. Select PERIODICAL TITLES AT MSU from menu.
  4. Place a MARS or ILL request.

Setting Up Google Scholar for MSU Access

Google Scholar can be set up so that it recognizes you as an MSU user and will give you access to full-text articles where possible.

1) Go to Google Scholar; login to your account if you have one.

 

2) Access settings by expanding the menu at the top left of the page, then clicking on the gear icon.

Accessing Google Scholar settings

 

3) Select Library Links from the menu on the left.

Library link options

 

4) Search for Michigan State University. From the results list put a check in the box by Michigan State University - MSU Access. Click Save.

Searching for MSU settings

 

5) When you do a search on Google Scholar a MSU Access link will appear to the right of the articles that the full text is available for. Clicking this link will take you to a page where you can download the PDF. You may be prompted to log in with your Net ID and password.

Be aware that a MSU Access link will not appear for all articles that the full text is available for. You may need to locate them by searching for the journal in the A-Z Electronic Journal List.

Example of article with MSU full text access

 

PubMed vs Web of Science vs Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful tool but it is important to know some of the main differences between it and databases when searching the literature. Some key differences are: what is included in each and how content is selected, how data is entered, and what is search. 

Michigan State University