LibGuides: Business Career Resources: Home

Subject Guide

Laura Leavitt Walesby

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, Room E403
East Lansing, MI 48824

517-355-4647

Subjects: Business, Law, Psychology

Career Exploration

The following websites and tools can help you discover your particular interests and skill sets. They can also help you understand the skills required for specific positions and the potential growth of certain careers.

Bridges - Choices Planner**MSU Authorized Users Only**
Available through MSU Career Services Network. Select Career Search Tools from menu on right side of the main page and login using your MSU NetID and Password.
Career Resources Research Guide (MSU)
CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.
O*NET Online
Provides detailed job descriptions of numerous professions. Information includes the skills, knowledge and abilities required for different jobs as well as projected growth of various occupations.
WetFeet **MSU Authorized Users Only**
Includes "Career Details" about specific positions. Available through MSU Career Services Network. Select Career Search Tools from menu on right side of the main page and login using your MSU NetID and Password.

Job Prospecting

These resources can help you develop a target list of potential employers by industry type, geography and other variables.

BizJournals
ThomasNet
Search ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers. It is built on the legacy of Thomas Register, a standard industry reference resource for 100+ years.

Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Contains directory information on over 14 million U.S. and over 1.4 million Canadian businesses, including detailed information for private companies and franchise locations. ***Previously known as ReferenceUSA.***

Job & Internship Posting Sites

Ann Arbor SPARK Job Postings
This Job Posting system from Ann Arbor SPARK targets high-value, knowledge-based and Michigan-based positions. New postings are featured each week in their free Talent Search newsletter.
Indeed.com
InterninMichigan
Create a student profile to describe the internship you want and search for opportunities.
Job-Hunt.org's Jobs by State (USA)
Mashable List: CareerToolbox: 100+ Places to Find Jobs
MySpartanCareer **MSU Authorized Users Only**
MySpartanCareer is the Career Services web-based system that allows you to search and apply for on-and off-campus jobs and internships; view, apply, and sign up for on-campus interviews; connect with resources to help you manage your career search; get information on upcoming events, workshops, presentations, and event cram sessions and keep your resume updated and current.
USAJOBS
The Federal Government's official one-stop source for Federal jobs and employment information.

Company Research

These resources can help you research a company in depth and prepare for an interview.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only six users at a time.**
Provides full-text articles from leading business newspapers, magazines, and wire services worldwide, including The Wall Street Journal. Also provides company, industry, and market information.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.

Company Culture

Glassdoor.com
Glassdoor.com gives you an inside look at company salary details, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.

Vault Career Insider This link opens in a new window
Provides guides on industries, employers, internships, career education including resumes, interviewing, etc., and career advice including "day in the life" information. Also includes Upskill Courses that teach PowerPoint, Excel, AutoCAD, personal finance, business writing, and much more.

WetFeet
Includes "Career Details" about specific positions. Available through MSU Career Services Network. Select Career Research Resources from menu on left side of the main page and login using your MSU NetID and Password.

Industry Research

In addition to researching any particular company, you should also research the industry within which it operates. This will give you a sense of the competitive landscape and the company's overall position within the industry.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Offers key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, with coverage down to the seven-digit NAICS code, along with in-depth analysis for over fifty global industries. Includes life cycle analysis, barriers to entry, and basis of competition.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only ten users at a time. It is necessary to create a personal account to access this resource.**
Contains full-text market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. Analyzes market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics.

TSNN
Online directory of trade shows and trade events. Free registration is required.

Michigan Resources

International Job Hunting

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries**MSU Authorized Users Only**
Available through MSU Career Services Network. Select Career Search Tools from menu on right side of the main page and login using your MSU NetID and Password.
Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. **MSU Authorized Users Only**
Available through MSU Career Services Network. Select Career Search Tools from menu on right side of the main page and login using your MSU NetID and Password.
Orbis
Provides comprehensive company data for 230,000 U.S. and International public and private companies, including company information, financial profile, and more.

Entrepreneurship

Guide to Starting a Business in Michigan
65-page guide on how to start a business in Michigan. Published by MI SBTDC & Michigan Economic Development Corporation.
ChubbyBrain.com
Online directory of venture capital firms, angel investors and startup companies.

Facebook & LinkedIn

These articles can help you manage your Facebook and LinkedIn profiles and use them to your best advantage when looking for a job.

Making Your LinkedIn Profile Effective
Tips to make your LinkedIn profile effective in your job search and networking efforts. By Jason Alba for Job-Hunt.org.
Using LinkedIn for Research
Tips on how to use LinkedIn for career and company research. Published by Job-Hunt.org.
Facebook and Professional Networking
Tips for using FaceBook for job searches and networking. Written by About.com's Allison Doyle.

Twitter

List of job search / career Tweeps that you may want to follow in Twitter.

Internships

@heatherhuhman - Heather Huhman (PR Internships)
@internatstate - internships @ MSU
@internalert
@internqueen - Lauren Berger

Job Interviews

@InterviewAngel - Brent Peterson
@InterviewCoach - Lewis

Job Search

@alisondoyle - Alison Doyle
@JobConcierge - JobConcierge
@JobHuntOrg - Susan P. Joyce
@JobSavants
@JobSearchNinja - Todd Bavol
@WSJCareers

Recent Graduates

@Gradversity - Trevor Wilson
@SweetCareers - Grace Kutney

TIP: Don't forget to search Twitter by keywords as well. Some examples include #interns, #jobsearch, #jobs, #jobangels.

Tweet Sheet: How to Use Twitter for Your Job Search (pdf)
Published by Marci Reynolds, http://www.marcireynolds.com, January 2010.

MSU Libraries

William C. Gast Business Library

Business Career Resources: Home