Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Free Engineering Information Resources

Selected Finding Tools

These indexes are free to use but the search results may include citations to journal articles and other materials that are not freely available.

CIVIL ENGINEERING DATABASE

This database indexes all of the publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers from 1975 to the present including all of their journals, conferences, books, manuals and standards. It can be searched by author, title, and keyword. To begin a search click on the “Search" button on the left side of the screen. The Engineering Library subscribes to both the print and electronic versions of all of the ASCE journals and purchases some of the other ASCE publications in print.

 

CiteSeerX  CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge. Rather than creating just another digital library, CiteSeerx attempts to provide resources such as algorithms, data, metadata, services, techniques, and software that can be used to promote other digital libraries. CiteSeerx has developed new methods and algorithms to index PostScript and PDF research articles on the Web.

 

Digital Commons Network Engineering

The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

 

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) Can be used to find articles in DOAJ

 

The Engineering Library - Engineering Resources in the Public Domain

Engineering Library provides access to a multitude of public-domain engineering resources available in one convenient location. We tracked down these valuable references and converted them into easy-to-read web pages because the team at Engineering Library believes that engineers should have access to a comprehensive, well-organized library, and it is our goal to provide that.

 

Google Scholar:  provides users with a single access point to a broad range of topics across many disciplines and many types of information resources including journal and conference articles, books, reports, theses  and government publications.  While Google Scholar searches can identify information sources in many formats and covering a wide range of topics it is not the only or best tool for finding information all topics.

Library of Congress - Science Reference Services -  Selected Internet Resources - Engineering  A portal that provides access to selected engineering internet resources some of which are free.

National Transportation Library Repository and Open Science Access Portal (ROSA P)

ROSA P is the National Transportation Library's Repository and Open Science Access Portal.  The name ROSA P was chosen to honor the role public transportation played in the civil rights movement, along with one of the important figures, Rosa Parks.

Founded as an all-digital library program, NTL's collection in ROSA P are full-text digital publications, datasets, and other resources.  Legacy print materials that have been digitized are collected if they have historic, technical, or national significance.  The repository is also designated as the full-text repository for USDOT-funded research the USDOT Public Access Plan.  Collections in ROSA P are available without restriction to transportation researchers, statistical organization, the media and the general public.  All resources in the public domain and/or explicit permission has been provided by the rights holder to the NTL to make their materials available for free over the web

 

PLOS (Public Library of Science)

PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

 

 

 

 

 

Michigan State University