LibGuides: HST 295 (Jacobson), Fall 2020: Holocaust Studies

Research Guides from USC

Research Guide to the USC Shoah Visual History Archive
See tabs for VHA Citation (how to cite a testimony) and VHA Subject Guide (details of collections and countries)
more...less...
from Crispin Brooks, USC Shoah archivist

Holocaust Encyclopedia
Online encyclopedia, freely available, from the US Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Holocaust Bibliographies
Annotated lists of Important resources on Holocaust-related topics of common interest. From the US Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Duane Mezga Holocaust Sites Photograph Collection
Open access photograph collection from the MSU Libraries.
Genocide Watch
Includes Genocide Convention and "10 Stages of Genocide".

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive This link opens in a new window
Search and view more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Non-university affiliates may come into MSU, UM Flint or UM Ann Arbor, or Ferris State libraries to use the database.

Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the ongoing conflict in the Central African Republic. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.

iWitness University
For college and university faculty and their students. Includes searchable testimony clips chosen for the college classroom, educational videos such as "What Is Genocide," "Ethical Editing," and "Refugees", and course activities including creating student videos.
IWitness
Designed for use by secondary school educators with their students. Over 1500 testimonies. Educators need to register. Includes tools for students to create videos within the site, and other resources for educators.
USC Shoah Archive videos on YouTube
Full length testimonies, clips, and other curated collections from USC Shoah Foundation Archive freely available. Indexing and sophisticated searching not available here.
Selected Testimonies from USC Shoah Archive on DVD at MSU Libraries
36 testimonies available for viewing in MSU Library and via interlibrary loan. Includes women survivors of Ravensbruck and Bergen-Belsen, men who were in Buchenwald as boys, and well-known testimonies from survivors of Auschwitz-Birkenau. Link here is to biographical profile and minute-by-minute testimony indexing for these 36 individuals.

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies This link opens in a new window
The Fortunoff Archive at Yale University currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape.
MSU is an Access Site for the Fortunoff Archive.To access the Archive, it is necessary to create a personal account, and follow additional steps. Please see http://fortunoff.library.yale.edu/archive/search/ for details on this process.

Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive
Over 150 survivor interviews freely and fully available online, no registration or login required. Each video or audio interview includes a text transcript and is divided into chapters. Project based at UM-Dearborn and interviewees are primarily from the Detroit metro area. These and additional interviews (over 300 total) available for Interlibrary Loan.
Voices of the Holocaust
Earliest known oral histories of the Holocaust, collected by Dr. David P. Boder. From Paul V. Galvin Library, Illinois Institute of Technology.
Genocide Archive of Rwanda
Photographs, videos and documents related to the 1994 genocide against theTutsi. Materials about pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconciliation and recovery initiatives in Rwanda are also included.
Rwanda Youth & Children's Testimonies
from University of South Florida Libraries Holocaust & Genocide Studies Center

Email Me

Subjects: Film Studies & Theatre, History, American, Literature, Performing Arts