Industry and Datasets - HRT 407 - Horticultural Marketing - LibGuides at Michigan State University Libraries

Industry

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is a system for classifying economic activity and has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS is an improvement over SIC in that establishments that use the same or similar processes to produce goods or services are grouped together. Where SIC codes consisted of 4 digits, NAICS uses 6 digit numbers. NAICS also allows for comparable statistics among the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides readable high level analysis for industries from the United States, some US states, worldwide, and in Canada and China. Includes supply chain, market share, and ease of entry industry data.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Provides composite financial analysis, including detailed balance sheets, covering a very wide range of industries and U.S. geographies up to the national level and down to zip code.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. The reports analyze market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics. Also, has new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. ***Formerly: Mintel Academic Reports and Mintel GNPD***
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
***Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.***
A web-based mapping tool that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.
Gale Business: DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
DemographicsNow provides demographics and comprehensive business and residential information for users to assess business viability, create sales leads and/or marketing mailing lists, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors, and much more. DemographicsNow’s versatility will make it useful for those who want to start a business as well as those who want to take their established business to the next level.

Studies / Surveys / Data sets

National gardening survey. by National Gardening Association
Call Number: SB450.9 .N38 Online
Publication Date: 2014 - 2021
The annual National Gardening Survey is the comprehensive market research report that leaders in the lawn and garden business count on each year to track the market and help them make strategic marketing decisions. Conducted annually since 1973, the Survey provides in-depth and up-to-date marketing information on industry trends, household participation, consumer profiles and retail sales.
What gardeners think survey 2021 by National Gardening Association
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2021
"NGA's benchmark segmentation study of the demographics of U.S. gardeners and their activities, attitudes, opinions, motivations, challenges, purchase decisions and future plans" "The definitive guide to lawn & garden business trends, analysis, and understanding."

NASS - Michigan Annual Bulletin
Look at 'Horticulture' section for floriculture information.

Surveys conducted by the Garden Writers Association Foundation [electronic resource] by Garden Writers Association Foundation
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2004-2013
A series of 39 surveys, generally quarterly, from 2004-2013. The surveys varied by topic and questions asked on each survey. A description of the survey is in each record. Surveys are generally 24-30 pages in length.
What gardeners think, 2012 [electronic resource] by National Gardening Association
Call Number: SB454.3.S63 W47 2012 Online
Publication Date: 2012
Reveals information about the types of gardeners in America, their attitudes, and what motivates them. Includes gardening by generation, attitudes about gardening, benefits of gardening, lawn and garden participation, spending, shopping in the economic downturn, and other information. Also includes complete tables for each survey question broken down by region of the country, gender, generation, age, marital status, education, household size, presence of children, and employment status.

Environmental lawn and garden survey, 2011
A consumer research report that looks at how environmentally responsible consumers care for their lawns and gardens. It looks at the most important factors relating to current lawn and garden practices and consumers' interest in and demand for all-natural, organic lawn and garden products in the future. A representative sample of more than 2,000 households was surveyed. The reports include complete tables for each survey question, broken down by region of the country, gender, age, marital status, education, household size, presence of children in the household, and employment status of all respondents.

Hard times lawn & garden survey, 2010 [electronic resource] by National Gardening Association
Call Number: SB433.15 .H37 2010 Online
Publication Date: 2010
An original, 100-page report examining how in previous recessions the overall garden market held strong, but not in the current recession. It includes written commentary and complete tables for each survey question broken down by region of the country, gender, age, marital status, education, household income, household size, presence of children, and employment status.

Axiom Insight Surveys
From 'Resources' page, select survey of your choice. Fill in the form (make sure your browser allows for pop-ups). The survey in pdf format will be sent to your email address.
Titles:
2023 Gardening Outlook
2023 Vegetable Garden Study
2022 Outdoor Home Improvement
2022 Growing More in 2022
2021 Millennial Home Improvement in 2021
2021 Carbon Market Survey - Ag Retailer Participation
2021 Home Improvement Forecast for 2021: Homeowners Tell us What They’re Tackling, How They’ll Get the Work Done and more.
2021 Gardening in a COVID-19 World

Organizations

Society of American Florists
The Society of American Florists is the association that connects and cultivates a thriving floral community for all participants of the U.S. floral industry and offers exciting benefits.
American Institute of Floral Designers
American Floral Endowment

HRT 407 - Horticultural Marketing: Industry and Datasets

Business Library

Industry

Studies / Surveys / Data sets

Organizations

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

HRT 407 - Horticultural Marketing: Industry and Datasets

Business Library

Industry

Studies / Surveys / Data sets

Organizations