Department of Entomology records (UA 16.45), 1887-1984
- 13 cubic feet, plus 28 volumes and 18 folders
- The records of the Department of Entomology contain correspondence, reports, extension bulletins relating to entomology, and photographs. The Department’s annual reports have information on projects, publications, personnel, enrollment, and extension activities. Prior to 1906, entomology courses were taught in the Department of Zoology.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/123
Department of Fisheries and Wildlife records (UA 16.48), 1926-1975
- 6.5 cubic feet
- The Department of Fisheries and Wildlife records consist of correspondence, employment opportunities, and administrative files for 1948 to 1968. Additional materials, spanning the years 1939 to 1975, include background historical information about the department, several projects and studies, and course materials. There are also photographs of wildlife, habitat, course materials, and 4-H activities from 1929 to 1944.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/27
Department of Geology records (UA 16.53), 1930-2010
- 8 cubic feet
- The Department of Geology was formed in 1925 as the Department of Zoology and Geology. The records of the Department of Geology consist of annual reports for 1920 to 1970, administrative files, correspondence, field trip reports, inventories of the department, experiment station notes, material relating to the Works Progress Administration, military college program, Sigma Xi and Phi Kappa Phi, and financial information.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/39
Michigan State University Museum records (UA 3.19), 1896-2011
- 3 cubic feet
- MSU Museum records consist of materials from Museum Director Rollin H. Baker (1955-1975), Curator of History Frank W. Elliot (1957-1961), display floor plans and architectural information on the museum, scrapbooks, monographs, and studies and reports by Museum staff members. Research reports cover topics including zoology, paleontology, ecology, archaeology and excavations (Michigan and Kenya), and Michigan history.
- From its inception in 1857 to 1924, the Museum emphasized biology and contained primarily instructional exhibits describing economically important plants and animals. Initially run by professors in economic biology, the Museum's first curator was Professor Albert J. Cook (1875-1893), who was followed by zoologist Walter Barrows. Professor Joseph W. Stack (Curator, 1924-1941; Director, 1941-1955) is credited with modernizing and broadening the scope of Museum exhibits, a trend continued by his successor, Dr. Rollin Baker (1955-1982).
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/134
Natural History Society records (UA 12.3.19), 1878-1903
- 0.5 cubic feet (1 folder and 2 volumes)
- The records of the Natural History Society consist of one folder which includes bylaws with amendments and articles, as well as a membership list. The volumes contain the constitution of the club, meeting minutes, and newspaper clippings of the proceedings of meetings. Some of the clippings contain a summary of papers read at the meetings.
- The Natural History Society was founded in 1872 and membership included students and faculty. The Society formed its own library and museum. The Society was made up of various sections that studied branches of the Natural History field, such as zoology or botany. The Society disbanded in 1903 due in part to the formation of more specialized clubs.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1417
Department of Zoology records (UA 16.121), 1920-1990
- 3.25 cubic feet
- The records of the Department of Zoology include correspondence, departmental material, staff meeting minutes, reports, and building blueprints.
- The Zoology and Entomology Department was created in 1860. Manly Miles was the first instructor hired for the department. The department was renamed Zoology and Physiology in 1894. In 1922, the department became part of the Applied Sciences Division. The department was later transferred to the College of Natural Science in 1962.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/175
Zoosphere (Serial 1136), 1975-1977
- 1 Folder
- Zoosphere was an informal monthly newsletter published by the Department of Zoology from November 1975 to October 1977. It contained news of the Zoology Department and of the field of Zoology in general. The items were submitted by students, staff, and faculty. It was discontinued due to lack of interest; there was rarely enough news submitted to make up a full issue.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2944
