Rollin Harold Baker papers (UA 17.111), 1936-1991
- 15 cubic feet
- The Rollin Baker papers includes his diaries (1936-1951), personal and business correspondence (1937-1974, 1990-1991), manuscripts (1937-1978), course materials from classes taken as undergraduate and graduate (1933-1947) and from classes taught (1947-1978), and research notes (1936-1978).
- In 1955 Baker became the director of the Museum and professor in the Department of Zoology and the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at Michigan State University. He held this position until his retirement in 1982.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/574
Walter Bradford Barrows papers (UA 17.2), 1850-1961
- 6 cubic feet
- The Barrows papers includes letterpress copies of correspondence (3 volumes, 1896-1900, 1904-1906, 1905-1910), correspondence (1893-1915), bird lists (1850-1914, undated), migration records (1903-1908), a copy of Barrow’s book Michigan Bird Life (1912), and photographs.
- Walter Bradford Barrows accepted a professorship in zoology and physiology at Michigan Agricultural College (now MSU) in 1894, where he stayed until his death in 1924. A renowned ornithologist, in 1912 he wrote his magnum opus, Michigan Bird Life, an excellent report accompanied by a voluminous bibliography.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/35
Charles E. Bessey papers (UA 10.3.157), 1869-1932
- 0.8 cubic feet
- The Charles E. Bessey papers consist of professional correspondence, publications and articles, and a workbook. The workbook contains notes and observations of experiments, and inventories of a museum and herbarium and of equipment in the botanical department. The collection also contains articles written by Bessey on botany topics, other topics of interest to him, and reviews of books and articles.
- Charles E. Bessey received his B.S. from Michigan Agricultural College (now MSU) in 1869. Bessey was an instructor of Botany at Iowa Agricultural College (now Iowa State University) from 1870 to 1873. In 1882, he became Vice President of the college and acting President. In 1884, Bessey left IAC to become the first Dean of Agriculture at the University of Nebraska. He held that position until 1915.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/436
Richard Adams Fennell papers (UA 17.125), 1936-1983
- 2 cubic feet
- The Fennell papers consist of correspondence (1936-1970), university related materials, and laboratory notebooks and manuscripts. The correspondence is business-related, and written to colleagues and associates. Several manuscripts written by Dr. Fennell are also in the collection (1933-1966). There are also class syllabi, laboratory schedules, and examinations from classes taught by Dr. Fennell in the late-1960s. Lecture notes from 1968 are also present, as are laboratory equipment lists and inventories, and various and other university-related materials. There are also drafts of several speeches and addresses Fennell gave, mostly in the 1930s-1940s, over WKAR-radio. Finally, there are two laboratory notebooks, probably compiled by Fennell during his collegiate career.
- After receiving his Ph.D. in Zoology from Johns Hopkins, Fennell was appointed as an instructor at Michigan State College in 1936. From 1944 to 1946, Fennell also worked as an agent at the U.S. Regional Poultry Laboratory in East Lansing, Michigan. Dr. Fennell was awarded the Distinguished Teacher Award from the MSC College of Science and Arts in 1954.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/345
Max Hensley papers (UA 17.126), 1947-1986
- 2 cubic feet
- The Max Hensley papers consist of three series: Correspondence, Professional Associations, and General Information. The Correspondence series primarily contains letters requesting information on reptiles and amphibians, or information on how to rid households of snakes. The Professional Associations series contains journals, conference programs, and some correspondence relating to Hensely's work with professional herpetological associations. The General Information series contains information on National Science Foundation grants and fellowships awarded to Hensley, summer institutes, and Gettysburg College, where Hensley taught before coming to Michigan State University.
- Marvin Max Hensley arrived at Michigan State University as an assistant professor in zoology in 1956. Hensley retired from MSU in 1986.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/394
John A. King papers (UA 17.206), 1939-2006
- 1.4 cubic feet
- The papers of John A. King contain correspondence, diaries, and typescripts of his diaries. Most of the dairies (1998-2006) include King’s observations of native animals, such as fox, squirrels, and mink, which frequented his backyard. Several contain notes about animals he caught in traps. The correspondence contains discussion of nature and scientific discoveries. Also included in the collection are King’s early research notes and field work on prairie dogs.
- John A. King was a professor of zoology at Michigan State University from 1961 until his retirement in 1986.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/460
Herman Slatis papers (UA 17.105), 1963-1972
- 1 folder
- The Herman Slatis papers contain correspondence written by Slatis to various people during his years at Michigan State University. The majority are to Alexander Sokoloff, a faculty member at the University of California, Berkeley Department of Genetics, about his work with the Tribolium Confusum (confused floor beetle). The correspondence is both professional and personal in nature.
- Herman Slatis was a professor of zoology at Michigan State University from 1963 until his premature death in 1976.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/256
Joseph W. Stack papers (UA 17.44), 1916-1953
- 3 cubic feet
- The Joseph W. Stack papers relate to Stack's tenure at MSU as a professor in the Department of Zoology and as curator and director of the MSU Museum. His areas of interest were ornithology and bird banding. Other subjects covered in Stack's papers are the curriculum at MSU, the Inland Bird Banding Association, and Stack's work with the Works Progress Administration.
- Joseph William Stack came to Michigan Agricultural College (now MSU) in 1915 as an instructor in zoology, physiology, and geology. He began serving as Curator of the Museum in 1924 and was appointed Director in 1941.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1932
George J. Wallace papers (UA 17.50), 1937-1971
- 0.5 cubic feet
- The George J. Wallace papers include correspondence, class papers, honors and news clippings about Wallace. The majority of the collection is copies of articles and booklets written by Wallace. The materials deal primarily with the field of ornithology. Also included are issues of the "Michigan Pesticide Council Newsletter."
- George J. Wallace was born in Vermont and there became interested in ornithology. He attended the University of Michigan and received a B.S. in zoology in 1923 and his Ph.D. in 1927. In 1942, Wallace came to Michigan State College where he was a faculty member for thirty years. During this period he was active in fighting against the use of the pesticide DDT.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/146
L. Whitney Watkins papers (UA 10.3.85), 1890-1891
- 4 folders
- The L. Whitney Watkins papers contain four notebooks (1890-1891) of class notes Watkins took as a student at Michigan Agricultural College. They cover his classes in horticulture, organic chemistry, agricultural chemistry, and zoology.
- Lucius Whitney Watkins graduated from Michigan Agricultural College in 1893 and later served as a member of the Michigan State Board of Agriculture. In appreciation for his work with the College, Watkins was awarded an honorary Ph.D. in 1932.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1795
