Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These resources may not be for the most current version of QGIS, but are generally helpful regardless.
Books at MSU
QGIS Quick Start Guide by Step through loading GIS data, creating GIS data, styling GIS and making maps with QGIS following a simple narrative that will allow you to build confidence as you progress. Key Features Work with GIS data, a step by step guide from creation to making a map Perform geoprocessing tasks and automate them using model builder Explore a range of features in QGIS 3.4, discover the power behind open source desktop GIS Book Description QGIS is a user friendly, open source geographic information system (GIS). The popularity of open source GIS and QGIS, in particular, has been growing rapidly over the last few years. This book is designed to help beginners learn about all the tools required to use QGIS 3.4. This book will provide you with clear, step-by-step instructions to help you apply your GIS knowledge to QGIS. You begin with an overview of QGIS 3.4 and its installation. You will learn how to load existing spatial data and create vector data from scratch. You will then be creating styles and labels for maps. The final two chapters demonstrate the Processing toolbox and include a brief investigation on how to extend QGIS. Throughout this book, we will be using the GeoPackage format, and we will also discuss how QGIS can support many different types of data. Finally, you will learn where to get help and how to become engaged with the GIS community. What you will learn Use existing data to interact with the canvas via zoom/pan/selection Create vector data and a GeoPackage and build a simple project around it Style data, both vector and raster data, using the Layer Styling Panel Design, label, save, and export maps using the data you have created Analyze spatial queries using the Processing toolbox Expand QGIS with the help of plugins, model builder, and the command line Who this book is for If you know the basic functions and processes of GIS, and want to learn to use QGIS to analyze geospatial data and create rich mapping applications, then this is the book for you.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2019-01-31
Learning QGIS - Third Edition by The latest guide to using QGIS 2.14 to create great maps and perform geoprocessing tasks with easeAbout This Book- Learn how to work with various data and create beautiful maps using this easy-to-follow guide.- Give a touch of professionalism to your maps both for functionality and look and feel with the help of this practical guide.- A progressive hands-on guide that builds on a geo-spatial data and adds more reactive maps by using geometry tools.Who This Book Is ForThis book is great for users, developers, and consultants who know the basic functions and processes of GIS and want to learn to use QGIS to analyze geospatial data and create rich mapping applications. If you want to take advantage of the wide range of functionalities that QGIS offers, then this is the book for you.What You Will Learn- Install QGIS and get familiar with the user interface- Load vector and raster data from files, databases, and web services- Create, visualize, and edit spatial data- Perform geoprocessing tasks and automate them- Create advanced cartographic outputs- Design great print maps- Expand QGIS using PythonIn DetailQGIS is a user-friendly open source geographic information system (GIS) that runs on Linux, Unix, Mac OS X, and Windows. The popularity of open source geographic information systems and QGIS in particular has been growing rapidly over the last few years.Learning QGIS Third Edition is a practical, hands-on guide updated for QGIS 2.14 that provides you with clear, step-by-step exercises to help you apply your GIS knowledge to QGIS. Through clear, practical exercises, this book will introduce you to working with QGIS quickly and painlessly.This book takes you from installing and configuring QGIS to handling spatial data to creating great maps. You will learn how to load and visualize existing spatial data and create data from scratch. You will get to know important plugins, perform common geoprocessing and spatial analysis tasks and automate them with Processing.We will cover how to achieve great cartographic output and print maps. Finally, you will learn how to extend QGIS using Python and even create your own plugin.Style and approachA step by step approach to explain concepts of Geospatial map with the help of real life examples
Call Number: G70.212 .G73 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-10
Mastering Geospatial Development with QGIS 3.X; An in-depth Guide to Becoming Proficient in Spatial Data Analysis using QGIS 3.4 and 3.6 with Python by Go beyond the basics and unleash the full power of QGIS with practical, step-by-step examplesAbout This Book- This book is your one-stop solution to all of your GIS needs using the open source QGIS- Master QGIS by learning about database integration, geoprocessing tools, Python scripts, advanced cartography, and custom plugins- This example-rich, practical guide will help you create sophisticated analyses and mapsWho This Book Is ForIf you are a GIS professional, a consultant, a student, or perhaps a fast learner who wants to go beyond the basics of QGIS, then this book is for you. It will prepare you to realize the full potential of QGIS.What You Will Learn- Create and manage a spatial database- Get to know advanced techniques to style GIS data- Prepare both vector and raster data for processing- Add heat maps, live layer effects, and labels to your maps- Master LAStools and GRASS integration with the Processing Toolbox- Edit and repair topological data errors- Automate workflows with batch processing and the QGIS Graphical Modeler- Integrate Python scripting into your data processing workflows- Develop your own QGIS pluginIn DetailQGIS is an open source solution to GIS. It is widely used by GIS professionals all over the world. It is the leading alternative to the proprietary GIS software. Although QGIS is described as intuitive, it is also by default complex. Knowing which tools to use and how to apply them is essential to producing valuable deliverables on time.Starting with a refresher on the QGIS basics, this book will take you all the way through to creating your first custom QGIS plugin. From the refresher, we will recap how to create, populate, and manage a spatial database. You'll also walk through styling GIS data, from creating custom symbols and color ramps to using blending modes. In the next section, you will discover how to prepare vector, heat maps, and create live layer effects, labeling, and raster data for processing. You'll also discover advanced data creation and editing techniques.The last third of the book covers the more technical aspects of QGIS such as using LAStools and GRASS GIS's integration with the Processing Toolbox, how to automate workflows with batch processing, and how to create graphical models. Finally, you will see how to create and run Python data processing scripts and write your own QGIS plugin with pyqgis.By the end of the book, you will understand how to work with all the aspects of QGIS, and will be ready to use it for any type of GIS work.Style and approachThis step-by-step comprehensive guide will let you dig your teeth into working with spatial databases, creating your own QGIS plugins, and creating your own custom graphical models.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2019
QGIS Map Design by Learn how to use QGIS to take your cartographic products to the highest level.With step-by-step instructions for creating the most modern print map designs seen in any instructional materials to-date, this book covers everything from basic styling and labeling to advanced techniques like illuminated contours and dynamic masking.See how QGIS is rapidly surpassing the cartographic capabilities of any other geoware available today with its data-driven overrides, flexible expression functions, multitudinous color tools, blend modes, and atlasing capabilities. A prior familiarity with basic QGIS capabilities is assumed. All example data and project files are included.Written by two of the leading experts in the realm of open source mapping, Anita and Gretchen are experienced authors who pour their wealth of knowledge into the book.Get ready to bump up your mapping experience!
Call Number: GA102.4.E4 G73 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
QGIS Python Programming Cookbook - Second Edition by Master over 170 recipes that will help you turn QGIS from a desktop GIS tool into a powerful automated geospatial frameworkAbout This Book- Delve into the undocumented features of the QGIS API- Get a set of user-friendly recipes that can automate entire geospatial workflows by connecting Python GIS building blocks into comprehensive processes- This book has a complete code upgrade to QGIS 2.18 and 30 new, valuable recipesWho This Book Is ForThis book is for geospatial analysts who want to learn more about automating everyday GIS tasks as well as programmers responsible for building GIS applications. The short, reusable recipes make concepts easy to understand and combine so you can build larger applications that are easy to maintain.What You Will Learn- Use Python and QGIS to produce captivating GIS visualizations and build complex map layouts- Find out how to effectively use the poorly-documented and undocumented features of the QGIS Python API- Automate entire geospatial workflows by connecting Python GIS building blocks into comprehensive processes- Create, import, and edit geospatial data on disk or in-memory- Change QGIS settings programmatically to control default behavior - Automatically generate PDF map books - Build dynamic forms for field inputIn DetailQGIS is a desktop geographic information system that facilitates data viewing, editing, and analysis. Paired with the most efficient scripting language-Python, we can write effective scripts that extend the core functionality of QGIS. Based on version QGIS 2.18, this book will teach you how to write Python code that works with spatial data to automate geoprocessing tasks in QGIS. It will cover topics such as querying and editing vector data and using raster data. You will also learn to create, edit, and optimize a vector layer for faster queries, reproject a vector layer, reduce the number of vertices in a vector layer without losing critical data, and convert a raster to a vector. Following this, you will work through recipes that will help you compose static maps, create heavily customized maps, and add specialized labels and annotations. As well as this, we'll also share a few tips and tricks based on different aspects of QGIS.Style and approachThis book follows a recipe-based problem-solution approach to address and dispel challenges faced when implementing and using QGIS on a regular basis.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2017-03-14