Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching the Library Catalog
To locate books on specific topics, search the Library Catalog. Begin with a keyword search which allows the use of everyday terminology and the combination of two or more concepts (e.g., "food allergens and labeling"; "food imports and regulation"). Use the truncation symbol to retrieve alternate forms of a word (e.g., regulat* will find regulation, regulations, regulatory, etc.; label* will find label, labels, labeling, labelling). Click on a title of interest and follow the subject hotlinks in the cataloging record to locate other books on the same topic. Alternatively, you can do a subject search, using one of the official Library of Congress subject headings in this area:
- FOOD--PACKAGING--LAW AND LEGISLATION
- FOOD--SAFETY MEASURES
- FOOD ADULTERATION AND INSPECTION
- FOOD ALLERGY
- FOOD INDUSTRY AND TRADE--SAFETY REGULATIONS
- FOOD LAW AND LEGISLATION
Selected Print and E-books
The A-Z Encyclopedia of Food Controversies and the Law by
Publication Date: 2010-12-22
This two-volume set is a broad compendium of the law, policies, and legal influences that affect the food on our plates today. * Alphabetically arranged entries describe topics related to the intersection of law and food * An appendix offers examples of legislation, court cases, regulations, and international treaties related to food * A timeline shows the development of the law of food in the United States * A bibliography lists additional materials for reference
Dietary Supplement Regulation in the United States by
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Contrary to the common belief that dietary supplements are "unregulated" in the United States, nutrients and other dietary ingredient-containing products have been regulated in this country for a little over a century at least in some capacity, initially through the Pure Food and Drug Act (PFDA) of 1906 and culminating with the many anticipated regulations to be implemented following the recent enactment of the Food Safety Modernization Act of 2010 (FSMA). The goal of this brief is to review and discuss the current statutes and regulations surrounding the ingredients, manufacturing standards, safety, and labeling of dietary supplements for the purpose of protecting consumers.
Food and Drug Law by
Call Number: KF3869 .F663 2014 Bus. Lib.
Publication Date: 2013-12-23
Approximately 25 cents out of every dollar spent by American consumers is for a commodity regulated by the Food and Drug Administration. The agency has jurisdiction over food, drugs, cosmetics, medical devices, biological products, animal food and drugs, and tobacco products, as well as electronic products that emit radiation and products that spread communicable disease. FDA regulation thus touches the production and sale of most products that fill the shelves of our supermarkets and drug stores and virtually every product prescribed or used by the medical profession. The agency's responsibilities range from the simplest foods and personal care products to the most technologically sophisticated innovations of biotechnology and medical engineering. Food and Drug Law is the law governing the actions taken by FDA and its sister agencies to oversee the safety of this vast universe of products, to ensure that their labeling (and in some cases advertising) is accurate and informative, and to shepherd safe and effective new products onto the market. The book contains many court cases, but to reflect the diverse forums in which food and drug law is developed and enforced, the text also contains many other types illustrative materials: Federal Register preambles, warning letters, regulatory guidance documents, Congressional hearing testimony, scholarly articles, newspaper opinion pieces, and many others. In addition, the book offers a generous amount of original content, in which the authors guide the reader through the complexities of the statutory and regulatory scheme. Moreover, like past editions, the Fourth Edition includes numerous illuminating notes, which offer a gold mine of fascinating examples of the law in action. The Fourth Edition, like previous editions, is extraordinarily valuable for practitioners. But notably, the book has been reorganized and edited so as to make it more useful than ever for students and professors. Much important contextual material has been moved to the front of the book, so students will grasp essential administrative, jurisdictional, federalism, and enforcement issues before mastering the intricacies of the product-specific chapters. The casebook thus provides an introductory window into administrative law for students who have not yet taken the basic Administrative Law course, as well as for first year students taking Food and Drug Law as an elective. The chapter on human drugs has been thoroughly reorganized to improve its comprehensibility. Throughout the book, other changes to organization and presentation have been made with professors and students in mind. The Fourth Edition is completely updated through the early fall of 2013. It includes a new chapter on tobacco regulation to reflect the responsibilities FDA acquired under the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control of 2009. It also incorporates all the other statutory amendments since 2007 (for example, the Food and Drug Administration Act, the Food Safety Modernization Act, and the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act). Every major development of the past six years is addressed, from the significant First Amendment cases to the preemption of tort suits to the drug compounding crisis to the regulation of bioengineered salmon.
Food Chemicals Codex by
Publication Date: 10th ed., 2016
This book is a compendium of internationally recognized monograph standards and tests for the purity and quality of food ingredients, e.g., preservatives, flavorings, colorants, and nutrients. It is beneficial to the food industry because it provides quality standards used in agreements between suppliers and manufacturers in ongoing supply decisions and purchasing transactions. Published since 1966 and recently acquired by USP from the Institute of Medicine, this 10th Edition is updated through an open collaborative revision process involving industry, government, and the public. More than 1,200 monographs provide specifications for food ingredients and the appendices contain step-by-step guidance for tests and apparatus use. The 10th Edition includes 45 additional monographs, including 8 probiotic monographs, 9 new general tests and assays, and 17 appendices, including microbial food cultures.
Food Law and Regulation for Non-Lawyers by
Publication Date: 2014-12-23
The book offers a succinct overview of key topics and core concepts for food scientists, quality managers, and others who need to understand the regulation of food and dietary supplements in the U.S. It was designed and modeled after a six-week introduction to food law course currently taught at Northeastern University, and serves as a practical tool for regulatory professionals. The book includes a chapter on each major topic, with summations of the legislative history and general legal landscape. Each chapter focuses the reader on major and emerging issues encountered by facilities. A comparative law section at the end of every chapter offers readers an ability to view alternative methods of regulation and enforcement. This design is unique and allows students and working professionals alike to understand core concepts and the practical application of the law to their work. Using a modified casebook method approach, the book also serves as a practical tool for regulatory professionals.
Food Law for Public Health by
Publication Date: 2015-11-17
Food and its many aspects - production, consumption, marketing, labeling, procurement, safety - have become a mainstay of both popular discourse and the practice of public health. As topics such as GMO labeling, food-borne illness outbreaks, soda bans, and food taxes have come to the forefrontof the public and academic conscious, understanding the legal underpinnings of these issues is vital. Food Law for Public Health is the first book on food law written specifically for a public health audience without a legal background. It offers comprehensive coverage of every aspect of food law:* Established and newer food law issues in the United States* Overview of US law, plus federal, state, and local governments' authorities and limitations to address food for public health* Controversial topics related to food marketing, food labeling, and the various regulatory concerns over food safety* Federal nutrition programs and guidelines * Litigation among the food industry, consumers, and the government. Food Law for Public Health offers necessary grounding in food law for audiences in public health, nutrition, food studies, policy, or anyone with a professional interest in this increasingly important area. With clear writing and thought-provoking questions and exercises for classroom discussion, itis an ideal tool for learning and teaching.
Food Law in the United States by
Publication Date: 2016-01-08
As the modern food system continues to transform food - its composition, taste, availability, value, and appearance - consumers are increasingly confronted by legal and regulatory issues that affect us all on a daily basis. In Food Law in the United States, Michael T. Roberts addresses these issues in a comprehensive, systematic manner that lays out the national legal framework for the regulation of food and the legal tools that fill gaps in this framework, including litigation, state law, and private standards. Covering a broad expanse of topics including commerce, food safety, marketing, nutrition, and emerging food-systems issues such as local food, sustainability, security, urban agriculture, and equity, this book is an essential reference for lawyers, students, non-law professionals, and consumer advocates who must understand food law to advance their respective interests.
Food Regulation by
Publication Date: 2016-11-30
Featuring case studies and discussion questions, this textbook - with revisions addressing significant changes to US food law - offers accessible coverage appropriate to a wide audience of students and professionals. Overviews the federal statutes, regulations, and regulatory agencies concerned with food regulation and introduces students to the case law and statutory scheme of food regulation Focuses updated content on the 2011 FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA), the biggest change to US food law since the 1930s Contains over 20% new material, particularly a rewritten import law chapter and revisions related to food safety regulation, health claims, and food defense Features case studies and discussion questions about application of law, policy questions, and emerging issues
Food Systems Law: An Introduction for Non-Lawyers by
Publication Date: 2020-07-07
Food law is a rapidly developing area, with interest being driven at the consumer, handler and farm level. This introductory textbook provides an overview of the concepts necessary for an understanding of food law and regulations, providing the non-specialist reader with a more comprehensive understanding of food systems from production to consumption. Food Systems Law first introduces the US legal system and then moves on to explain the Federal Regulation of Food systems, the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) and the Farm Bill, the single most important piece of legislation which impacts the way in which federal resources are used within the food industry. The following chapters provide concise explanations of key topics including food safety, food labeling, organic certification and food waste, with examples from US law and policy included. Importantly, the book also addresses key topics which overlap with food law, such as environmental, health and agricultural law. This textbook is geared towards a non-legal audience, particularly students of interdisciplinary food studies and food science who are taking food law courses, as well as those studying agricultural law, food policy and environmental law. It will also be of interest to professionals working in the food industry and those who want to learn more about how food is regulated.
Guide to US Food Laws and Regulations by
Publication Date: 2013-07-22
For both student food scientists and experienced professionals, a knowledge of U.S. food law is the foundation that supports an understanding of all industry regulation. Based on a popular internet course, Guide to Food Laws and Regulations, 2nd Edition informs students on the significance, range, and background of food laws and gives tools for finding current regulations. This compact resource outlines major U.S. food laws, factors that led to their passage, and explains the role of key agencies like the FDA and FSIS in regulation and enforcement. Students are directed to internet sites as well as to indexes and resources available from the Federal government. Other topics include religious dietary law, Occupational Safety and Health Administration regulations, environmental regulations, HACCP and GMPs, laws governing health claims, and the regulation of biotechnology. New to this edition are six chapters on subjects that have risen to prominence during the last few years: Poultry Processing Regulations Federal Trade Commission Animal Welfare Regulations and Food Production Egg Laws and Regulations Catfish Regulations Locating Laws and Regulations Guide to Food Laws and Regulations, 2nd Edition is an ideal sourcebook for students and professionals in food science and technology, chemistry, biosystems engineering, food animal production and medicine, agribusiness, and other closely related fields.