Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Field Measurements for Forest Carbon Monitoring by In the summer of 2003, a workshop was held in Portsmouth, NH, to discuss land measurement techniques for the North American Carbon Program. Over 40 sci- tists representing government agencies, academia and nonprofit research organi- tions located in Canada, the US and Mexico participated. During the course of the workshop a number of topics were discussed, with an emphasis on the following: * The need for an intermediate tier of carbon measurements. This level of study would be more extensive than state-level inventories of the US Forest Service Forest Inventory and Analysis Program, but less detailed than intensive ecos- tem studies sites such as those in Long Term Ecological Research network. This tier would ideally provide a basis to link and scale remote sensing measurements and inventory data, and supply data required to parameterize existing models (see Wofsy and Harriss 2002, Denning et al. 2005). * The design criteria that such a network of sites should meet. The network and s- pling design should be standardized, but flexible enough to be applied across North America. The design also needs to be efficient enough to be implemented without the need for large field crews, yet robust enough to provide useful information. Finally, the spatial scale must permit easy linkage to remotely sensed data. * The key variables that should be measured at each site, and the frequency of measurement.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2008-09-24
SpringerLink is the platform for access to almost 1,200 journals in the scientific, technical, and medical fields, with content from 1997 and onward. A search engine is included, as well as the ability to set up table of contents alerts and other personalized features.Many books, especially Forestry books, are now accessible online through Springlerlink. Series titles include: Advances in agroforestry, Forestry Sciences, Managing forest ecosystems, Plant and vegetation, Tropical Forestry, World Forests, and Springer series in wood science.
Silvics of North America: 1. Conifers; 2. Hardwoods. Agriculture Handbook 654
The silvical characteristics of about 200 forest tree species and varieties are described. Most are native to the 50 United States and Puerto Rico, but a few are introduced and naturalized. Information on habitat, life history, and genetics is given for 15 genera, 63 species, and 20 varieties of conifers and for 58 genera, 128 species, and 6 varieties of hardwoods. These represent most of the commercially important trees of the United States and Canada and some of those from Mexico and the Caribbean Islands, making this a reference for virtually all of North America. A special feature of this edition is the inclusion of 19 tropical and subtropical species. These additions are native and introduced trees of the southern border of the United States from Florida to Texas and California, and also from Hawaii and Puerto Rico.
Biodiversity, carbon storage and dynamics of old northern forests
By Erik Framstad, Heleen de Wit, Raisa Mäkipää, Markku Larjavaara, Lars Vesterdal and Erik Karltun. TemaNord 2013:507. ISBN 978-92-893-2510-3. PDF download.
Carbon in the Peatlands of the Great Lakes Region of North America
Ott, Cassandra A. "Carbon in the Peatlands of the Great Lakes Region of North America." Thesis - M.S., Forest Resources and Environmental Science Department, Michigan Technological University, 2013.
Full text online through Proquest-Thesis Database.
A Virtual “Field Test” of Forest Management Carbon Offset Protocols: The Influence of Accounting
Authors: Christopher Galik, Megan Mobley and Daniel Richter
Published: March 2009
Publication Type: Working Paper
A Synthesis of the Science on Forests and Carbon for U.S. Forests
Author(s): Michael G. Ryan, Mark E. Harmon, Richard A. Birdsey, Christian P. Giardina, Linda S. Heath, Richard A. Houghton, Robert B. Jackson, Duncan C. McKinley, James F. Morrison, Brian C. Murray, Diane E. Pataki, and Kenneth E. Skog
Published: May 2010
Publication Type: Journal Article
FAO Corporate Document Repository
The FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format. It enables users to easily access the accumulated knowledge and information produced by FAO directly on the Internet. The advanced search provides the user with the means to carry out a specific search, by querying a particular field or combination of fields. There are three distinct advanced searches, one for meeting documents one for publications, such as books and journals, and one for articles.
World Resource Institute (WRI) Publications
WRI is committed to producing high-quality research, including reports, working papers, issue briefs, and fact sheets. Our publications are subject to peer review, and are held to traditional "academic" standards of excellence, such as objectivity and rigor. We also ensure that all of our publications are timely, fit for audience, and rooted in a strategic plan for achieving positive change in the world.
Global Forest Watch - Country Profiles
Each profile has the section "Forest policy and legislation" near the bottom of the page.
GIS Dictionary / ESRI
Definitions for GIS terms related to operations such as analysis, GIS modeling and web-based GIS, cartography, and Esri software.
GIS Bibliography / ESRI
This bibliography covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present. There are currently over 152,000 entries in the Esri GIS Bibliography.