Skip to Main Content
Michigan State University

Forest Carbon Program - A Resource Guide: Article Research

Research resources for the Forest Carbon Program

Articles - Refresher

  • Articles contain the most current information published in a field of study. The Library Catalog contains the journal titles to all of the print and electronic format journals to which we subscribe.  The Catalog does not list the articles within the journals.  Articles are in article databases.
     
  • Most professors and researchers prefer articles that are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" in nature.  The table located here: Popular vs. Scholarly Periodicals describe characteristics of scholarly journals to help you make the distinction.
     
  • If you are still uncertain about the scholarly nature of a journal, you all look up the title or ISSN in the periodical database Ulrichs Periodical Directory (UlrichsWeb).  This database will tell you about the journal including the nature, it's audience, and in which databases it is indexed and abstracted.

General Forestry Databases - Subscription

Forestry Databases - Non-Subscription

The article databases listed here do not require MSU logins to be searched. However, there may not provide full text article access, but rather an index to the articles in certain journals. To locate the full text of the articles, search for it using SearchPlus or find the journal in our online catalog. [see the box: Citation Searching for assistance]

Popular, Scholarly, or Trade?

Learn the difference between three major types of articles. Get tips for using each type.

Direct link to "Popular, Scholarly, or Trade?" on MSU Mediaspace

Video credit: Emilia Marcyk

Citation Search

Citation searching

If you have a citation to an article, the easiest way to locate the article is to look up the title of the article using SearchPlus. You may want to enclose the title in quotes [" "], and possibly include the title of the journal also.

 

 

Another way to locate the article is to look up the title of the journal in the catalog. 

  • Identify whether we own the journal and the format, print or electronic. 
  • If in electronic format, do we have that year/volume? If yes, you can click on the link provided to go directly to the online articles and find the one you need. 
  • If it is not online, do we have it in print?  If so, identify the call number and go to the stacks to find the proper volume and issue.  If we do not own the journal or issue, you can request the article through Interlibrary Services.