Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

The Crusades: Web Sites

Short guide to researching the Crusades, in English, 11th-14th centuries.

Web Sites

It is important to evaluate the web sites you use. To do this, ask yourself:

Who is the site’s author?  Is it/are they (a) reputable person(s) in the scholarly world?

Who is the site’s publisher?  Prefer sites whose web addresses end in ".edu" or ".org" rather than ".com."

What is the point of view or bias of the site? Information is rarely neutral.

Does the material include, refer to, or indicate knowledge of the subject matter?

Are the details accurate or verifiable?

Is the information current or timely?  When was the site last updated?

Internet Medieval Sourcebook Selected Sources The Crusades

A section of an enormous free web site developed by Paul Halsall of Fordham University on the Middle Ages.  This part has many primary source documents about the Crusades.

Database of Crusaders to the Holy Land 1095-1149

Information on hundreds of individual crusaders involved in either the first campaign (1096-99) or the second (1145-49). Users can conduct an advanced search via the tab at the top of the homepage, using filters such as crusade, leader, country of origin, forename, gender, title, and role. There are also several browsing options available (crusader, crusade, country of origin, etc.), allowing users to approach the information in various ways. Browsing by role, for example, gives users a look at the types of people making up the crusaders' party, such as abbots, barons, clerks, nuns, pilgrims, servants, tradesmen and, of course, knights. Entries for individual crusaders provide basic biographical detail, some more generous than others. Users may learn family information, region of origin, expedition, consequences of expedition, actions, and financial arrangement (particularly interesting). Entries include source information as well.

HathiTrust: Islamic Manuscripts

Islamic mss at University of Michigan.  Over 1,000 mss,mostly in Arabic.  Can see either catalog record or full view.  Can browse more than 50 pp of record summaries or use search bar at top to narrow down selections.  Filters at page top also allow for sorting of the collection alphabetically or by date.  UM Libraries research guide.

Malta Study Center of Hill Museum and Manuscript Library (HMML)

The Center’s primary mission is to preserve and make accessible the written culture of Malta and the Order of Malta. The Center maintains a microfilm collection of more than 16,000 documents from Malta, covering the period of the 12th to the 20th century. The materials include the Archives of the Order of Malta, the Cathedral Museum in Mdina, the Archives of the Inquisition, the ecclesiastical records of the dioceses of Malta and Gozo, and musical compositions. The center also has over 1500 digitized manuscripts from the National Archives of Malta, the Notarial Archives of Malta, the Magistral Library and Archives, and the Palazzo Falson Museum and Library. The Center sponsors digitization projects to preserve the history of Malta and the Order of Malta. The Center also actively acquires rare books and manuscripts related to Maltese history and the history of the Order, which are cataloged, digitized, and studied in the Hill Museum & Manuscript Library’s Rare Book and Special Collections.

Medieval and Renaissance Studies

This guide is a list of scholarly resources in Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern Studies. Intended primarily for librarians; it may be useful to scholars in this field.  It is curated and managed by members of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries. Users are free to copy and edit content from this guide for their own purposes.

Medieval West--Additional Web Resources

A guide to free web sites, created here at M.S.U. Libraries

Michigan State University