Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Is aware of issues and variables vital to the community being served, and understands how these variables impact program prioritization, planning, and delivery. Continuously seeks opportunities and builds strategic partnerships to leverage and build support for programming to reach organizational goals and serve communities according to their needs. (e.g., communicates with media, communicates Extension’s value to partners, awareness of community).
Social Sciences Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items, from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Social Sciences Full Text
Coverage: 1983-present. Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. EBSSCOhost platform.
VIDEO: Becoming a Social Worker With Older Adults: Real Students, Real Clients, Real Growth
1 video file (1 hr., 9 min., 26 sec)
In this video by social work professor Judith Smith, social work students show how to apply skills to field work with older adult clients. Viewers learn about support groups, home visits, caregivers, self-determination, ageism, and outreach to the very old.
The SAGE Sourcebook of Service-Learning and Civic Engagement by
Call Number: LC237 .E38 2007eb Online
Publication Date: 2015-04-29
This Sourcebook focuses on historical, philosophical, social foundations, practices and models of service-learning and civic engagement. The title offers practical, jargon-free chapters applicable to any educational institution as well as community organizations that might consult the work. Each thematic part provides a practical sampling of syllabi, lesson plans, activities and resources, and online websites and databases supporting service-learning. With this new sourcebook, we hope to provide a set of structured background, resources, and examples to guide readers into a relevant intellectual and culturally based understanding of the field while offering the needed tools to create and actively engage in quality programs.
Academics in Action!: A model for community-engaged research, teaching, and service by
Call Number: LB1028.24 .A23 2016 Online
Publication Date: 2016-01-04
Academics in Action! describes a more integrated model wherein students and faculty work with communities, learn from them, and bring to bear findings from theory and research to generate solutions to community problems. Offering examples of community-engaged theory, scholarship, teaching, and action, Academics in Action! describes the nuanced structures that foster and support their development within a research university. Theory and action span multiple ecological levels from individuals and small groups to organizations and social structures. The communities of engagement range from local neighborhoods and schools to arenas of national policy and international development.
Civic Views of Young Adult Minorities: Exploring the Influences of Kinship Communities And Youth Mentoring Communities on Prosocial Civic Behaviors. by CIRCLE Working Paper 25
Civic engagement is not something that automatically occurs upon one's transition to adulthood. On the contrary, civic engagement is a developmental process that includes cognitive, affective and behavioral benchmarks. The origins of these benchmarks can be found in the various communities of practice. Civic participation provides individuals with civic skills that can be transferred to all areas of life. However, by adulthood, many individuals have little or no background in civic or political participation. In order to alter this disparaging fact, social systems must increase opportunities for youth and their families to be involved with service opportunities. Early exposure to service ensures that developing citizens are more likely to be active in the political process, take interests in the equal distribution of community resources, and find themselves more inclined to mobilize fellow citizens for a cause. In essence, civic engagement is more than a high level of altruism, buttressed by positive self-esteem, strong self-concept, and high self efficacy. This document focuses on the civic views of young adult minorities and how kinship communities and youth mentoring programs can work together to promote sustained civic engagement.
Call Number: ED484061 Online
Publication Date: 2004
Direct Work with Family Groups: Simple, Fun Ideas to Aid Engagement and Assessment and Enable Positive Change by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015-09-21
Direct Work with Family Groups is full of great ideas to aid engagement, assessment and enable positive change through direct work with family groups. Working with families can be a challenging experience. This book looks at the personal skills needed to engage families, both at home and in the community. It provides guidance on how to assess and manage the needs of individual family members, whilst also being mindful of potential risk factors. With easy to use activities and resources, this book will inspire you to think about creative new ways to plan and carry out your work.