Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mindful of individual and shared workspaces and resources. Exhibits good stewardship of physical and financial resources (e.g., storage, supplies, budgets, financial records and reporting).
ProQuest One Business
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist. Also has videos, ebooks, and company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and analyst reports from J.P. Morgan.
Business Source Complete
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
VIDEO: Transforming stress into power : balance for resilience
1 streaming video file (44 minutes)
This video explores the fact that within each person is a wellspring of resilience and strength that each individual needs to tap into to achieve a healthy state of life. In that regard, the video points out that striving for an appropriate work-life balance is essentially a myth. Rather, the key is the path that an individual takes and the choices that person makes. In addition, the video details the basic components of the "resilience model" that outlines what people need to do to be more mentally tough and hardy.
VIDEO: Work-Life Balance: Success and Happiness in an Always-Connected World
1 video file (30 min., 29 sec.)
Not so long ago, people used to go to school or work, then had the rest of the day to enjoy their personal lives. But in today's always-connected world, work life and home life are blending. This video looks at the phenomenon with an eye for keeping a proper balance that leads to happiness, health and success both at home and at work. It presents strategies for coping with stress, taking responsibility, being organized, managing time and maintaining focus with interviews with experts, professionals, seasoned telecommuters and students.
Success As a Coach by
Publication Date: 2013-10-28
What does it take to be a successful coach? Assuming that you already possess the right skills, characteristics and training then success simply lies in finding and winning clients that you can coach successfully. Personal fulfilment and profitable fee revenue will be direct results. Unfortunately this isn't as simple as it might seem. Success as a Coach is your complete guide to business development whether you're newly qualified or an experienced coach. It covers all the crucial factors that will help you build your clients and your business including: finding the right clients; extending your professional network; planning and running meetings; delivering value for the client; calculating fees; structuring and delivering sessions; structuring your business; strategic client leadership and systematically growing your business.
Making Work and Family Work: From hard choices to smart choices by
Call Number: HD4904.25 .G7354 2016 Online
Publication Date: 2016-07-25
Making Work and Family Work investigates the difficult choices that contemporary employees must face when juggling work and family with a view to identifying the smart choices that all parties involved--society, employers, employees and families--should make to promote greater work-life balance.
Managing Your Whole Life by
Call Number: HF5549.5.J63 Online
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Managing the demands of the workplace and the responsibilities of the rest of your life can be tricky, especially when youre a driven leader who wants to succeed. This book will show you how to successfully establish and manage work-life boundaries so that you can be more successful at work and at home.
The Empowered Manager, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: HD58.7 .B58 2017 Online
Publication Date: 2016-11-30
This book shows you how a new approach to management empowers all employees at all levels, and culminates in better business outcomes for the entire organization. Help shape a culture of commitment Develop the political skills to negotiate successfully Take responsibility for your actions Learn to fail up, and face setbacks with courage If you feel controlled by bureaucracy, unrewarded for creativity, and from a distance, powerless to control your own destiny, this book is the breath of fresh air your career has been craving. Timeless tips from a master of business strategy alongside a framework for more effective management makes The Empowered Manager a must-read guide for anyone doing business today.