Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Multicultural Apprenticeship Program (MAP): Library Resources: Finding Journal Articles

Searching for Articles

To locate journal articles you need to begin your search in an online subject database for the journal literature on your topic.

If you are not sure which database to search, choose an database from those listed below and click on the title. Once in the database, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.

 

Developing a Search Strategy:

First, identify the Key Concepts or Terms for your search.

For instance, if you are looking for journal articles on the following topic:

"What role does Physical Therapy play in the rehabilitation of Stroke Patients?"

Key Concepts: Physical Therapy and Stroke

Start with a broad search if you retrieve a large number of results change or add terms to narrow the focus of your search.

 

Relevant Electronic Databases

Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. It covers the following fields: Botany, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Evolutionary ecology, Kinseology, Neurology, and Toxicology. Coverage from 1926 to the present. Web of Science platform.

CAB Abstracts

1910-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.

PUBMED

PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubMed is the premier search engine for biomedical and life sciences information. It provides web access to bibliographic information, including literature citations, abstracts, and electronic journal articles.

Science Direct

Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.

ProQuest

ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: business, children, education, general interest, health, international, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (including Alternative Health Module)

The Health & Wellness Resource Center provides an integrated collection of general interest and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Designed for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers.
The Alternative Health Module, includes information on alternative and complimentary therapies. It provides a collection of books, journals, magazines and pamphlets for consumers and health care professionals. This module displays additonal information on alternative topics such as herbal remedies, yoga, homeopathy, midwifery, chiropractic and more.

PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.

Web of Science

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanitites, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Biological and Agricultural Index Plus

Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)

FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering. Some 1800 publications in over 40 languages are scanned regularly, including journals, reviews, standards, legislation, patents, books, theses, and conference proceedings.

Ag Econ Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics

AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including Working papers, Conference papers and Journal articles. Includes sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.

Environment Complete

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Sheila Bryant's picture
Sheila Bryant
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive, WG-1G
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0896
Website
Michigan State University