LibGuides: Business Electronic Resources: Electronic Books

Electronic Business Books

Ebook Central ebooks (formerly Ebrary)
Collection of downloadable ebooks in all areas of scholarship.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Search and view the full text of eBooks.

Elgar Online
A collection of e-books over a variety of subject areas. We do not have access to all of the e-books. Some may be found by searching the catalog.
ScienceDirect
A collection of e-books over a variety of subject areas. Browse under the Social Sciences and Humanities section - Business, Management and Accounting and Economics, Econometrics and Finance.

SpringerLink
Online access to reference works and e-books.
Taylor & Francis eBook Collection
Availability: 1990-

Taylor & Francis eBooks includes full texts of works from a variety of publishers including CRC Press, Routledge, Apple Academic Press, Earthscan, and others. Most disciplines have ebooks in this collection with most works having individual chapters that can be read online or downloaded as pdf files. The platform can be searched by using keywords, and for specific book titles, chapter titles and authors. Post-search results can be limited to MSU licensed and Open Access material by clicking the left filter box 'Content I have access to'.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley InterScience is the platform for over 450 online journals in a variety of subjects in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences. Coverage back to 1997 is provided (with extended coverage for some titles). It also includes electronic books. A search engine is provided, as well as the ability to set up table of contents alerts, save searches, etc.
NOTE: MSU LIBRARIES ONLY SUBSCRIBES TO SOME OF THIS CONTENT.

Sage Reference Online
A collection of e-books over a variety of subject areas.
Oxford Handbooks in Business & Management
Containing essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars, advanced students, and practitioners. Includes topics like Corporate Social Responsibility, Entrepreneurship, International Business, and more.
Richard K. Miller & Associates Publications
RKMA publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Handbooks are: Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile; Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook; Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook; International Consumer Markets; Leisure Business Market Research Handbook; Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook; Retail Business Market Research Handbook; Sports Marketing; and Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook

Ebook Central and EBSCO ebooks

Proquest Ebook Central and EBSCO eBook Collection are two of our major ebook platforms. Most books on these platforms have some limits on printing, downloading and simultaneous user access.

1. Do you recommend using the "Download Book" or "Full Download" option for ebooks on the Ebook Central or EBSCO platforms?

Generally, no. Downloading using those options gives access to a book for 7 days only. After that the book will be removed from your computer or device. To ensure access without the 7-day limit, use the Print to PDF, Download PDF Chapter or Save Pages option if available. Reading online (subject to user limits) is always available.

Note: 1-user limit books on both platforms cannot be downloaded in full - use the PDF download/Save Pages option; 3-user limit books on Ebook Central cannot be downloaded.

2. Why do I see a “Sorry, this eBook is in use” message?

Some books on these platforms have a limited number of simultaneous users, and the user limits for this book have been reached.

What can I do to access this book?

a. Check if the same book is available on another platform with different use restrictions. Use the MSU Library Catalog to find all electronic versions of a book.

b. Wait and come back again. Both platforms have 30 minute inactivity time-outs.

How to “close” an EBSCO eBook so it becomes available to another user

Ebook Central: when will limited-user books become available?

3. How do I download books from Ebook Central and EBSCO?

Note: 1-user limit books on both platforms cannot be downloaded; 3-user limit books on Ebook Central cannot be downloaded.

a) Create an Ebook Central or EBSCOhost personal account

b) Create an Adobe account.

c) To use a computer to read or download e-books, install Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) on a computer (PC/Mac)

To read on a mobile device, download Download the Adobe Digital Editions app (or other reader) app from the Google Play Store on your Android device or from the app store on your iOS device.

d) Either search and download directly from a device OR search and download to a computer and read on the computer or transfer to a device.

4. How do I return a downloaded book before it's check-out period ends?

EBSCO Instructions

Ebook Central ebooks cannot be returned early.

Ask a Business Librarian

Gast Business Library
Michigan State University
Law College Building
648 N. Shaw Lane, Room 50
East Lansing, MI 48824-1300
(517) 355-3380