LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 10,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
"Recovering the US Hispanic Literary Heritage (“Recovery”) is an international program to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1980."
"This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title."
"This page provides some basic resources for those interested in learning more about the history of the book in Latin America, about Special Collections of Latin American materials, as well as information on topics related to Special Collections in general."
"The SlaveVoyages website is a collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history. Search these records to learn about the broad origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people who were sent across the Atlantic in slave ships, and hundreds of thousands more who were trafficked within the Americas. Explore where they were taken, the numerous rebellions that occurred, the horrific loss of life during the voyages, the identities and nationalities of the perpetrators, and much more."
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
Latin American Women Writers (LAWW) provides access to a wealth of primary source texts that illuminate and critically analyze the diverse history and current state of feminism and women's status throughout Latin America. In addition to key literary and dramatic works, the collection includes feminist essays, memoirs, pamphlets, and performance flyers and programs. The extensive coverage of LAWW includes historical texts (from the colonial period through the 19th century), and contemporary works (from the 20th century to the present).
The historical collections include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more from sources such as: Bauza Maps and Manuscripts Collection * Brazil's Popular Groups, 1966-1986 * Colección De Documentos Inéditos Relativos Al Descubrimiento, Conquista Y Organización De Las Antiguas Posesiones Españolas De América Y Oceania. -- Madrid : M.B. de Quyros, 1864-1884 * Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492-1825 * Latin American History and Culture: An Archival Record, Series 1: The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts, Parts 1-7 * Latin American and Iberian Biographies * Mexican and Central American Political and Social Ephemera * Papers of Agustín de Iturbide, 1799-1880
"The ANM is the institution in charge of preserving the documentation on the violation of human rights in Argentina. It has in custody funds and collections of public and private origin, mostly linked to the last civic-military dictatorship (1976-1983), which serve as evidence in trials for crimes against humanity, are support of the reparation policies for victims and are available for consultation by the entire community."
"Memoria Abierta is an alliance of Argentine human rights organizations that promotes memory on the human rights violations committed in the recent past, the actions of resistance and efforts for truth and justice, to strengthen democracy reflecting on present issues."
"Memórias Reveladas is the result of various government actions aimed at strengthening a public policy to enhance the historical documentary heritage and improve citizenship and of democracy" in Brazil.
"ArchivosChile is a journalistic research project of the Center for Investigation and Information (Centro de Investigación e Información–CIINFO) based on the systematic search for public information using the Transparency Law. Its journalistic and documentary results are published in national media or on the site ArchivosChile.com and are publicly accessible in the form of archives and collections."
An archive of "voices of different communities and people through documents deposited by victims, community leaders, social organizations; documents produced by public entities with legal responsibilities in the guarantee of human rights, as well as materials compiled by the CNMH during memory workshops and those that were part of academic research carried out by our researchers."
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
"Digitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) aim to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation."
"The GAM historical archive is an effort to rescue millions of documents which contain testimonies from the victims of humans rights violations during the Guatemalan Internal Armed Conflict."
"A group of Guatemalan organizations and institutions that work on issues of historical memory and human rights, gathered in Virtual Memory Guatemala to publicize the work we have done on the Internal Armed Conflict, promoting dialogue for historical clarification."
"The 'Archivos de la Represión' project is an effort by civil society that aims to contribute to the right to truth and memory of the period of repression and systematic violence by the State between 1950-1980 in Mexico."
"Using part of the corpus known as Relaciones Geográficas de la Nueva España – one of the most important colonial historical sources of America – concerned with the territory of Mexico, this project is creating and developing novel computational approaches for the semi-automated exploration of thousands of pages contained in these 16th century documents."
This collection traces the evolution of Mexico during the pivotal era of Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). It provides rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era, including coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
Most of the titles were sourced from the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, a renowned research library at the University of Texas at Austin for area studies pertaining to Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Latino presence in the United States.
Open Access collection of titles digitized by CRL and East View Information Services under the Global Press Archive (GPA) Charter Alliance. This collection, with a preliminary release of 135,000 pages from 477 titles, will ultimately include approximately 1,000 titles.
"This collection contains documents regarding human rights during El Salvador’s civil war, which were results of FOIA requests based on research conducted by the UWCHR’s “Unfinished Sentences” project. This collection includes documents from various federal agencies including the U.S. Department of State and the Central Intelligence Agency."
"AREPR is a collaborative digital humanities project led by Christina Boyles at Michigan State University, Mirerza González Vélez and Nadjah Ríos Villarini at the University of Puerto Rico at Río Piedras (UPRRP), and Ricia Anne Chansky at the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez (UPRM). Funded by a grant from the Mellon Foundation (2020-2023), AREPR employs the decolonial practice of post-custodial archiving to record stories of mutual aid organizations and individuals surviving and responding creatively to stratified disasters that have impacted the Puerto Rican archipelago in the last five years, including hurricanes, earthquakes, and the global pandemic of COVID-19. We define post-custodial archiving as a model in which the concept of the “archive” is deeply rooted in that of memory as heritage. As such, data in the form of digital artifacts is preserved in a manner that allows “creators to maintain control of their archival records while archivists provide management support.” Our reliance on post-custodial archiving practices in building the digital repository allows us to engage a strategy in which community partners and narrators cocreate research frameworks and participate in designing project outputs and their dissemination."
