Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Spanish American Literature: A Guide to Selected Resources: Biographical Resources

Learn about authors

André, María C, and Eva P. Bueno. Latin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia. New York: Routledge, 2008. Print.
[PQ7081.3 .L37 2008 Area Studies Reference]

Flores, Angel. Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century. New York: Wilson, 1992. Print.
[PQ7081.3 .F57 1992 Area Studies Reference]

Literature Resource Center. Gale Group.

A complete reference database, Literature Resource Center provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, and critical analysis of authors from all ages and literary disciplines. Built on three author databases, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography, this resource also includes selected full-text critical material from other Gale Group critical series, plus the complete Scribner Writer Series (bio-critical essays) and the Twayne Authors Series. 

Dictionary of Literary Biography. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1978- .
[No longer available in print]

The contents of the following volumes are included in Literature Resource Center, above.

Brazilian writers. Monica Rector, ed. Farmington Hills, Mich.: Thomson Gale, 2005. (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 307)

Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. First series. William Luis and Ann Gonzalez, ed. Detroit: Gale, c1992. (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 113)

Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. Second series. William Luis and Ann Gonzalez, ed. Detroit: Gale, c1994. (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 145)

Latin American dramatists. First series. Adam Versenyi, ed. Detroit : Gale Research, 2005. (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 305)

Modern Spanish American poets. First series. Maria A.Salgado, ed. Detroit : Gale Research, 2003. (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 283)

Modern Spanish American poets. Second Series. Maria A.Salgado, ed. Detroit : Gale Research, 2004. (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 290)

Hispanic Writers: A Selection of Sketches from "Contemporary Authors." Bryan Ryan, ed. Detroit: Gale, 1991.
[folio PQ7081 .A1 H48 1991 Main Stacks]

Entries on 400 twentieth-century Hispanic writers. Includes biographical sketches, bibliographies, and excerpts of criticism. Contents of this volume also included in Literature Resource Center, above.

Mundo Lo, Sara de. Index to Spanish American Collective Biography. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981-1985. 4 vols.
[Z1609 .B6 M86 Main Stacks]

 

NOTE: There are many specialized sources for both individual authors and authors from particular Latin American areas or countries.

For monographic length works on individual authors, try a subject search on the author's name.

For monographic length works on authors from a particular nation or region, try searching in this form: Authors, [country]

For example,"Authors, Mexican" leads to a wealth of sources.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter, Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Michigan State University