Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Spanish American Literature: A Guide to Selected Resources: Find Articles

MLA is premier index to worldwide literature scholarship

MLA provides access to scholarly research on language, literature, linguistics and folklore in over 3000 journals and series. Identifies articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, papers, etc. International in scope since 1956, but from 1921-1955 was limited to publications of the United States. The electronic versions include the Bibliography's entire print run since 1926.

MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCO)

MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Language and Literature. Vol. 1- , 1956- . New York: Modern Language Association, 1956- . Annual. [Z1007 .M6 Remote Storage]

Prisma and HAPI Online focus on Latin America, but are multi-disciplinary in scope.

Prisma and HAPI Online are fully integrated-- Prisma offers key titles that are indexed in HAPI Online and incorporates HAPI indexing directly into the database.

HAPI Online

Source for articles in journals published in Latin America, mainly in Spanish America, but also indexes content of many major North American and European journals that treat all geographic areas of Latin America and the Caribbean. Coverage from 1970 to the present.

Prisma

More than 200 full-text titles are currently available, most with a backfile to the year 2002, with some back to the mid-nineties. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Retrospective Indexes

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1962. 8 vols.

[Z1605 .I55 Remote Storage]

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature. Humanities and Social Sciences. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1961-
[Z1605 .I551 Main Stacks] Coverage from 1960-1970.

LAPTOC

Provides access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, many not indexed elsewhere. LAPTOC coverage: 900 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region.  Most of the articles indexed in LAPTOC were published between 1994 and 2009.  Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication.

NO LINKS to FULL TEXT; NO FULL TEXT SEARCHING.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter, Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Retrospective Indexes

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1962. 8 vols. [Z1605 .I55 Main Stacks]

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature. Humanities and Social Sciences. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1961-
Coverage from 1960-1970.
[Z1605 .I551 Main Stacks]

Interlibrary Loan Information

See options for borrowing different types of materials (books, articles, theses, etc.) from other libraries. Most of the time you will probably just link from the catalog and other databases to the appropriate loan request form.

Michigan State University