Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Biofuels and Bioenergy Resources

A guide to information resources for biofuels and bioenergy

Books

MSU's online catalog  can be used to locate materials on biofuels and bioenergy. Most books about biofuels, bioenergy, renewable energy, and biomass for the production of energy are located in the Main Library. The online catalog can be searched in a number of ways including by author, title, subject, or keyword. If you are searching for a particular item you can do an author or title search.  You can also search for a particular item by searching its author and title at one time or by searching for it by using its ISBN number. Use the keyword or subject search to locate items relating to a your topic. Because libraries assign subject headings to books that may not match the terms you are familiar with, it is often useful to do a keyword search using the words you are familiar with and then see what subject heading(s) are assigned to the items that seem to be the most useful to you and then doing another search using those subject headings. A subject search can give you the most precise results, but if you are not familiar with the subject area, you may not know what subject headings will give you the best results. One strategy is to do a keyword search using the words you are familiar with and then note the subject heading(s) used for the items that seem to be the most useful and then do a subject search using those subject headings.  Some useful subject headings for information about biofuels and bioenergy are Agriculture and energy Biomass energy, Biomass energy industries, Biomass chemicals Biomass conversion, Energy cropsEnergy crops industry, Renewable energy sources,  Biodiesel fuels, Alcohol as fuel, Waste products as fuel, and Refuse as fuel.

E Book Collections

The MSU Libraries provide users with access to an increasingly large number of e-books.  Below are links to selected e-book collections:

AccessEngineering 
Includes the latest editions of sources such as Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Antenna Engineering Handbook, Handbook of Optics, Maynard’s Industrial Engineering Handbook, Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many others.
Searchable, full-text handbooks and reference works in biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, chemistry & chemical engineering, civil engineering & construction materials, food sciences, and metals & metallurgy.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science Collection SYNTHESIS is an innovative information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. It combines authoritative content with advanced digital delivery to create a product that is substantially more useful than traditional print and digital publications.

SpringerLink

SpringerLink  is the platform or the Springer.  It provides online access to reference works and other e-books, in addition to their journals in the scientific, technical, and medical field.

Michigan State University