LibGuides: Mathematics Research Guide: Finding Books

New Math Books

Google Books

Finding Books in the MSU Libraries

To find books in the MSU Main Library, use the online catalog. Search by author, title, or keyword. Books are shelved by Library of Congress call number. Mathematics call numbers generally begin with QA.

Mathematics Education: QA11
Algebra: QA150 - 272.5
Statistics and Probability: QA273 - 280
Analysis: QA299.6 - 433
Geometry and Topology: QA440 - 699
Analytic Mechanics: QA801 - 939

Mathematics Reference Books in the Main Library

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics by Weisstein, Eric W.
Call Number: QA5 .W45 2003
A basic compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas,figures, tabulations and references.

Reference books provide a brief overiview of a subject and are a good place to start your research.

Encyclopaedia of Mathematics
Call Number: QA5 .T34 2005
Includes material for non-specialists, definitions, biographies, and articles on results or problems.

Biographical Dictionary of Mathematics - 4 Volumes
QA28 .B534 1991

Notable Mathematicians
QA28 .N66 1998

The VNR Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
QA40 .V18 1977

Handbook of Writing for the Mathematical Sciences
QA42 .H54 1998

Guide to Information Sources in Mathematics and Statistics
QA41.7 .T83 2004

Handbook of Mathematical Tables and Formulas
QA47 .B8 1973 c.6

CRC Handbook of Tables for Probability and Statistics
QA276 .B44 1968

Statistical Rules of Thumb
QA276.12 .V36 2002

Statisticians of the Centuries
QA276.156 .S73 2001

Electronic Books/Reference Works

MSU Libraries provides access to many electronic books. Look in the library catalog to find them. Included are e-books from these platforms:

Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
1999 ed.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
4th ed. Over 3,000 A-Z entries providing definitions of all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics, as well as information on major mathematicians.
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
Historical Math Monographs
A collection of selected monographs with expired copyrights chosen from the mathematics field. These were monographs that were brittle and decaying and in need of rescue.
Lecture Notes in Mathematics
MSU Libraries provides electronic access to the entire collection of Springer's Lecture Notes in Mathematics.
Springer Supplementary Materials
Online access to supplementary tables, graphics, images, software and other materials for Springer scientific, technical and medical publications.
STATSnetBASE
This online library meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines. From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data.
SynthesisLectures on Mathematics and Statistics
University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection
A growing library of books selected from the University of Michigan mathematics collection that have been digitized to improve access and to preserve the content of these books. All of the books in this collection were published in the 19th or early 20th century.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Mathematics Research Guide: Finding Books

New Math Books

Google Books

Finding Books in the MSU Libraries

Mathematics Reference Books in the Main Library

Electronic Books/Reference Works