LibGuides: Geological & Earth Sciences Research Guide: Indexes to Journal Articles & Pubs

Best Indexes

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
1785-
GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Its over 1.7 million citations, many with abstracts, cover the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. It scans over 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, and reports. Most U.S. Geological Survey publications and many state geological surveys are indexed, as are U.S. and Canadian theses and dissertations.
GeoBASE This link opens in a new window
GeoBASE is a broad interdisciplinary journal index for international development, the Earth sciences, ecology, human geography, and oceanography. The database provides current coverage of almost 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications, plus several thousand additional journal titles and books. GEOBASE contains over 1.4 million records from 1980 to present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
American Association of Petroleum Geologists AAPG This link opens in a new window
Perpetual access generously provided by Bruce Dice (M.A., 1956).

Earth Impact Database
The Earth Impact Database comprises a list of confirmed impact structures from around the world AND lists of articles and publications about that impact structure.

Video on finding scholarly articles about Geology

Finding Paper Journals

Most (but not all) magazines and journals are delivered online, including historical backfiles. All journal subscriptions at MSU Libraries will have a record in the Online Catalog . You will see separate records for the paper subscription to the journal (if one exists) and the online subscription. They will appear like this:

Example:
Paper journal: E conomic Geology and the Bulletin of the Society of Economic Geologists
Online Journal: Geophysical Research Letters

Bound paper journals are generally located in our Remote Storage facility. You may either request the volume to be physically delivered, or individual articles may be scanned by staff and delivered to you online.

Request a paper volume delivered to the main library or faculty may request it delivered to their offices. Request by clicking the purple "Get it!" button in the library catalog record.
Request a scan of an article using our MSU Article Retrieval Service

Note: Journals can change names slightly over time and be represented in the library catalog across several records. Journal of Geophysical Research is a prime example!

If you have trouble finding what you need, please ask the Geology Librarian or on nights/weekends Ask a Librarian.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Weessies

Email Me

Contact:

Geosciences Librarian; Social Sciences Coordinator; Head, Map Library
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive E240

517-884-0849

Subjects: Geography, Geology, Journalism, Psychology

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Geological & Earth Sciences Research Guide: Indexes to Journal Articles & Pubs

Best Indexes

Video on finding scholarly articles about Geology

Finding Paper Journals

Subject Guide