Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fall 2020 Semester Notice
Changes in Spring 2021 Services
- The 1st floor of the Main Library is open with reduced hours.
- We have made many changes to our furniture and services to optimize your safety.
- You may request books through the catalog -look for the Get it! button) to be shipped to your home or picked up at the Circulation Desk counter.
- Please contact me with questions at firstname.lastname@example.org
- Our online guide to library support for Online and Distance Learning Resources will help you be productive
- 24/7 Reference Assistance is still available using our Ask A Librarian Chat.
Encyclopedia of Geology
Published in 2004, this five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology. Entries include pictures and a long list of references for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Geology is divided into nearly 350 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. articles are heavily cross-referenced and include further reading lists.
Encyclopedia of Geobiology by
Publication Date: 2011-03-10
The interplay between Geology and Biology has shaped the Earth from the early Precambrian, 3.8 billion years ago. The Encyclopedia of Geobiology is designed as a key reference for students, researchers, teachers, and the informed public to provide basic, but comprehensible knowledge on this rapidly expanding dicipline at the interface between modern geo- and biosciences.
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs by
Publication Date: 2012-06-25
Lakes and reservoirs hold about 90% of the world's surface fresh water. The book contributes to the physical, chemical and ecological characteristics of lakes and reservoirs as well as describing their uses and environmental state trends in different parts of the world. Over 80 scientists from over 25 countries have contributed to the over 200 entries in a wide range of topics including acidification, artificialisation, biology, canals, climate change effects, chemicals, dams, dew ponds, drainage, ecological, eutrofication, evaporation, fisheries, geographical, geological, hydrological, hydro-electric power, nutrients, organic pollution, paleolimnology, reservoir capacities and depths, sedimentation and water resources.
Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology and Ancient Environments by
Publication Date: 2008-10-31
While the human imprint is becoming increasingly apparent, Earth's climate has shifted dramatically and frequently during the last few million years, alternating between ice ages, when vast glaciers covered Northern Europe and much of North America, and interglacial warm periods much like today. The Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology and Ancient Environments, a companion volume to the recently-published Encyclopedia of World Climatology, provides the reader with an entry point to the rapidly expanding field of paleoclimatology, the study of climates of the past. The encyclopedia offers 230 informative articles written by over 200 well known international experts on numerous subjects, ranging from classical geological evidence to the latest research.
Encyclopedia of Soil Science by
Publication Date: 2007-11-22
The Encyclopedia of Soil Science provides a comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authorative collection of some 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology. With increased usage of soil for world food production, building materials, and waste repositories, demand has grown for a better global understanding of soil and its processes.
Encyclopedia of Solid Earth Geophysics by
Publication Date: 2011-06-29
This new edition, edited by Prof. Harsh K. Gupta, represents a thoroughly revised and expanded reference work. It brings together more than 200 articles covering established and new concepts of Geophysics across the various sub-disciplines such as Gravity, Geodesy, Geomagnetism, Seismology, Seismics, Deep Earth Processes, Plate Tectonics, Thermal Domains, Computational Methods, etc. in a systematic and consistent format and standard. It is an authoritative and current reference source with extraordinary width of scope. It draws its unique strength from the expert contributions of editors and authors across the globe.
Treatise on Geochemistry by
Publication Date: 2013-11-22
This extensively updated new edition of the widely acclaimed Treatise on Geochemistry has increased its coverage beyond the wide range of geochemical subject areas in the first edition, with five new volumes which include: the history of the atmosphere, geochemistry of mineral deposits, archaeology and anthropology, organic geochemistry and analytical geochemistry.
Treatise on Geomorphology by
Publication Date: 2013-02-27
No other reference work exists in the area of Geomorphology that offers the breadth and depth of information contained in this 14-volume work.
Treatise on Geophysics by
Publication Date: 2007-10-17
The editors are leaders in their fields of expertise, as distinguished a group of geophysicists as could be assembled on the planet. They know well the topics that had to be covered to achieve the breadth and depth required by the Treatise, and they know who were the best of their colleagues to write on each subject. The volumes of the Treatise are: Volume 1: Seismology and Structure of the Earth Volume 2: Mineral Physics Volume 3: Geodesy Volume 4: Earthquake Seismology Volume 5: Geomagnetism Volume 6: Crustal and Lithosphere Dynamics Volume 7: Mantle Dynamics Volume 8: Core Dynamics Volume 9: Evolution of the Earth Volume 10: Planets and Moons An eleventhnbsp;volume of the Treatise provides a comprehensive index.
Great Lakes Region Geology
Printing and Copying
Once you have located an item of interest on the computer, you have several choices:
- Scan the material and save to a USB drive. The Map Library has a 42" roll-type scanner and a 11 x 17" (A3) flatbed scanner. Most other scanners are in the Hollander MakeCentral (Copy Center) on 2-west.
- Photocopy the material -- coin and bill-operated machines are sprinkled around both wings of the main library on nearly every floor. The main location for making photocopies in the main library is Hollander MakeCentral on 2-west.