Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
US Geologic Indexes
National Geologic Map Database
A powerful search engine that indexes geologic maps from 350+ publishers, including the many state geological surveys. A growing number of Michigan Geologic Survey publications are linked in here.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library
USBM (Bureau of Mines) Mineral Technology Bulletins are here as are many Monographs of the US Bureau of Standards.
USGS Publications Search
Contains bibliographic citations for over 70,000 publications Full product and thematic map content for over 40,000 publications USGS numbered series begun in 1880.
Use the Publications Warehouse Web Site to:
Locate products by author , title, year, or product type
Locate products recently published by USGS, by month
Discover availability, price, and purchase options for hard copies
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment. Links to full-text Geologic Investigations, Bulletins, Circulars, Open-file Reports, Professional Papers, Miscellaneous Field Studies, Miscellaneous Investigations, Scientific Investigations, and more.
Canadian Geologic Indexes
GeologyOntario provides access to the information holdings of the Ontario Geological Survey. Rich spatial and attribute search functionality facilitates discovery of information in over 85,000 reports and 168,000 maps from OGS publications and client submitted mining assessment files. In addition, hundreds of digital products containing field data, geophysical surveys, geochemical analyses and geochronological measurements.
Search the publications of the Geological Survey of Canada, many with full text access. GeoScan features over 60,000 records for Earth Sciences Section publications, including publications of the Geological Survey of Canada, Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, Canada Topographic Maps, and External publications authored by ESS scientists and specialists
Geoscience Data Repository
a collection of Earth Sciences Sector geoscience databases that is managed and accessed by a series of Information Services (GDRIS). This site allows for you to discover, view and download maps and data free of charge
Map Index to Ontario Surficial Geology Maps
Graphical index showing the footprints of surficial geology maps of Ontario
World geological surveys
Geoscience Organizations of the World
Compiled by the Research Planning Office for Geological Survey of Japan, this actively maintained list links out to major government/quasi-government organizations of the world relating to geological surveys and earth scientific researches.