LibGuides: Entrepreneurship and Small Business: Consumers

Consumer Analysis

Mintel
Provides market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. The reports analyze market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics. Also, has new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. ***Formerly: Mintel Academic Reports and Mintel GNPD***
SimplyAnalytics
***Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.***
A web-based mapping tool that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.
Simmons Catalyst
**Access is allowed for only 50 users at a time.**
Contains data from the National Consumer Study, an annual survey of U.S. consumers' buying and media habits which can be used to create customized reports of the data. Most recent data available is 3 years old.
eMarketer
eMarketer provides market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics.
Statista
Provides statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods and services, sports, technology, transportation, and much more.

Local Market Audience Analyst (via SRDS)
Provides demographic profiles for over 210 designated market areas, along with lifestyle behavior and market potential. Click on the link to the Local Market Audience Analyst and then select from the left-hand navigation either market, lifestyle or demographic reports. NOTE: Does NOT work in Firefox. Please use Internet Explorer.
Consumer Behavior (via Business Source Complete)
Market research report summarizes current research on why consumers buy and how to influence their purchasing, based on data from U.S. retail market analysts, consumer behavior specialists and recent consumer survey results. The handbook presents insight on demographics, including the Hispanic, African-American, Asian-American, Baby Boomer, Generation X, Millennial, Gay & Lesbian, and Affluent consumer groups.
New Strategist Titles
Several marketing books including the Who's Buying series and more.

Demographics

Demographics includes statistical information about age, gender, race, income, education, etc. Much demographic information is available from the US Census website (http://www.census.gov).

SimplyAnalytics
***Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.***
A web-based mapping tool that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Replaces the Census Bureau publication (1878-2012).

Michigan.gov: Census & Demographic Data
From the State of Michigan, this site provides access to Michigan demographic, economic, educational, and geographic data as well as census information.
MSU Data - Demographics
This web site provides links to demographic information for MSU staff and students.
Editor and Publisher Market Guide
HF 5905 .E38 (Reference)
Provides detailed statistical information for U.S. and Canadian cities publishing one or more daily newspapers.
Consumer Behavior (via Business Source Complete)
Market research report summarizes current research on why consumers buy and how to influence their purchasing, based on data from U.S. retail market analysts, consumer behavior specialists and recent consumer survey results. The handbook presents insight on demographics, including the Hispanic, African-American, Asian-American, Baby Boomer, Generation X, Millennial, Gay & Lesbian, and Affluent consumer groups.

Data.Census.gov
Data.Census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Psychographics

Psychographics include characteristics based on ideology, values, beliefs, and attitudes.

Mintel
Provides market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. The reports analyze market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics. Also, has new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. ***Formerly: Mintel Academic Reports and Mintel GNPD***
Passport GMID
Provides U.S. and International reports, data, and news for industries, companies and brands, economy, and consumers. It focuses more on the consumer products and services but also also contains sections supply sections for ingredients and packaging.
Simmons Catalyst
**Access is allowed for only 50 users at a time.**
Contains data from the National Consumer Study, an annual survey of U.S. consumers' buying and media habits which can be used to create customized reports of the data. Most recent data available is 3 years old.