Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Allied Health

Analysis of the allied health field

Analysis of the Subject Field

A. Chronology of the Subject: Emphases/Restrictions

Emphasis is on current research, clinical practice, and trends in allied health, specifically communicative sciences and disorders and biomedical laboratory diagnostics. 

B. Languages of Resources Collected: Exclusions/Emphases/Translations

The primary language of acquired materials is English.

C. Geography of the Subject: Emphases/Restrictions

The primary emphasis is on the United States and Canada. English-language publications, regardless of country of origin or geographic treatment, may be considered in specific circumstances.

D. Format of the Resources Collected: Restrictions, If Any

Resources collected include: research and trade journals, textbooks, databases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, medical atlases, directories, drug guides, proceedings, government publications and standards, bibliographies, board and exam preparation study materials, and materials related to United States-based certification, licensures, and specialized education/training. Also collected are point-of-care tools and online video and image resources.

Emphasis is placed on electronic resources to support integration into the allied health curricular materials and research. Journals are collected only in electronic format when available. A robust print book collection is also maintained to support interlibrary loan and use by community patrons visiting MSU. 

Research Data

Research data - particularly MSU-generated data that is not already openly available or that cannot/will not be placed in existing research data repositories - may be collected, although HIPAA Privacy laws may preclude the collection of clinical data. For additional guidelines, please see MSU's Digital Research Data Collection Development Policy.

Images, Streaming Media, and Audio-Visual Materials

Image banks and streaming media may be purchase, if available, upon faculty request. Streaming media is given priority when it will be used in a classroom setting for educational purposes. Popular films and documentaries are acceptable genres if they fit a predetermined curricular need. Physical format AV materials are collected rarely.

Textbooks

Core textbooks are collected in print and electronic formats, with a preference for electronic when available.

Not Collected

The following are usually not collected: theses (except for MSU theses), catalogs, programmed texts, ephemera, and self-published works. Laboratory manuals, spiral-bound works, and pocket-sized books are collected only under very limited circumstances.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected: Emphases, If Any

Generally, materials published in the last five years are collected. Older material is considered for unusual or sparsely covered subjects, or in the case of replacements for missing items. Older material may also be added to complete a series of editions of an important title or complete a journal run.

F. Special Topics Collected

Consumer Health

Select consumer health books are collected in print on broad topics such as speech, hearing, and language disorders and their diagnosis and therapeutic management. Other topics include description of laboratory and diagnostic tests. Informational and evidence-based books are preferred. Memoirs, patient autobiographies, graphic novels, young adult, or children’s books are not collected.

G. Diversity and Inclusion Considerations

Purchasing materials by and about diverse populations is a core collection component for allied health. Underrepresented populations in health and medical research are a key area of research and concern for MSU’s health programs. Collection decisions place importance on who is being represented in health literature, cultural competency in medical practice, and supporting, valuing, and purchasing materials that introduce the unique perspectives and needs of underserved and marginalized communities. Diversity in allied health collection development foci can encompass, but are not limited to, the areas of underrepresented: races, ethnicities, sexualities, ages, gender expressions and identities, cultural and religious identities, socioeconomic class, US geographical location, and nationalities.
 

Michigan State University