Maintain general-level collection for music literature prior to 12th Century.
Maintain/increase music coverage from 12th Century to present.
Augment collection of vocal folks music with newer anthologies as available, especially for Latin America.
Musicals will be collected as general-level resources.
Collect music of MSU-related performers/composers/authors for Music and/or University Archives.
Popular music will be collected in anthologies cataloged in M1630.18; in general, recordings of popular music will not be collected except as requested by faculty. Recordings collected by other areas/selectors may be housed in Fine Arts—Music collections by prior arrangement (e.g., the gay/lesbian CD collection is here rather than in Special Collections)
Jazz will be collected in recording and score but not in “charts”, “lead sheets” or instrumental parts.
Parts for instrumental chamber music will be collected up to nonets; above that, only scores will be collected.
Vocal works should be collected in original language and, when possible, with English translations; this is particularly true of scores.
In keeping with strengths and emphases of existing collection and curricular needs, main emphasis will continue to be on North America and Europe.
Increase folk/ethnic music as available and within curricular needs, especially for the Americas.
Increase composed music of other cultures when possible.
Full scores for chamber music, orchestral, band, and large vocal works.
Piano scores for operas, oratorios and other large vocal works; also for large instrumental works with solo instrument.
Parts, when available, for ensembles up to 9 instruments.
Recordings in CD format; donations of records accepted if selection criteria are met.
Video recordings in DVD; rarely in VHS. Existing VHS tapes to be replaced with DVD as available.
Software if it accompanies important scores or recordings; generally not purchased as substitute for printed notation.
Restricted: popular music not in support of curriculum is restricted to anthologies (no sheet music) and recordings only if requested by professor.
Chamber music parts for more than 9 instruments.
Parts for orchestra, band, string orchestra or other large ensembles.
Choral octavos (an uncataloged sample reference file is being developed but will not be placed with regular scores)
Revival hymns (refer to Special Collections)
Solo folk instrument music (harmonica, folk guitar, accordion) unless faculty request.
Cassette tapes, unless the only format available to accompany an essential book or score.