Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Music Literature

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

  • A. Anticipated Future Trends
     

    The Fine Arts—Music Library will continue to be the most significant and approachable collection for patrons on campus, in mid-Michigan and across the state.

    A new music building has been under discussion for decades but it is now considered unlikely that space for a new music library will be included in any renovations or expansions in the foreseeable future. The College of Music is expected to continue to grow in both faculty and students, who will all need library resources.

    The Community Music School has developed exponentially in its 25-year history. Students may be too young to use the collections but their teachers and parents rely on library resources. Although off-campus, CMS is defnitely a component of the College of Music.

    The Music Library became much more visible to other University patrons once it moved to the Main Library in 1994. Non-musicians use the facility to some extent, especially when RCAH or IAH have music-focussed classes.

    Western classical traditions will remain the strength of the College of Music and the Fine Arts-Music Library. In addition, classical or composed traditions outside the mainstream will be increasingly studied (e.g., the music of the Orthodox church or Chinese classical music) and will require resources.

    Ethnomusicology and jazz are important and recent areas of emphasis as majors within the College of Music. In addition, ethnomusicology and non-Western emphases are being incorporated into standard music classes. Both areas will continue to require material.

    Literature about popular music is collected at a general level; it is not currently part of the College of Music curriculum.

    Programs in graduate choral, band and orchestral conducting are extremely strong and will continue to require additional resources.

    Reference material, both in paper and in various digital formats, is critical. The thematic catalog collection must continue to increase. Music dictionaries, bibliographies and periodical indices are all vital. Those on-line sources which are affordable and useful to our clientele will continue to be added to the collection but will not generally replace the bound volumes.

    Microforms may be added if they are of significant historical and practical interest. Purchase of microforms will be of low priority, since they are difficult to use and extremely expensive to obtain if other options exist.

    Software is purchased selectively and only as academically required. Software items accompanying books will be purchased and housed in Fine Arts.

    Faculty and student requests will be honored whenever possible and as long as those requests meet collection development criteria.

  • B. Relationship with Other Resources
     
    • On-campus or Format Collections
       
      • Fine Arts—Music score and recording collections
      • Fine Arts—Art book and journal collections
      • Special Collections (mostly for scores but some related texts)
      • College of Music departmental collections (theory, musicology, etc.)
      • University Archives and Historical Collections
    • Regional
       
      • University of Michigan (books and journals)
      • Detroit Public Library (books and journals)
      • Wayne State University Library (books and journals)
      • Other Michigan college and university libraries
      • CIC, CRL member institutions
      • Library of Michigan (primarily books)
    • C. Other policy statements
       
      • Music (recordings and scores)
      • Digital Media Center/Vincent Voice Library (recorded voices, interviews of musicians)
      • Special Collections
      • Area selectors
      • Subject selectors in art, psychology, theology, performance medicine, performing arts, languages
Michigan State University