Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

British Studies: the 18th Century, a Guide to Topics in the MSU Libraries' Collections: READING PRIVILEGES AND RULES

This is a guide to 18th-century British studies materials, particularly in our Special Collections and Rare Books unit.

READING PRIVILEGES AND RULES

The Murray and Hong Special Collections' stacks are closed to the public. Request materials for use in the reading room, prior to visiting, here.

Material may be used only in the Murray and Hong Special Collections reading room and should be returned to the reading room desk when finished.

Only materials needed for note-taking may be taken to the reading tables. Coats, briefcases, backpacks and other paraphernalia are to be left in the space provided.

Only pencil and paper, or laptop computers may be used at the reading room tables for note-taking.

Materials are to be handled carefully:

  • Notebooks, etc. should not be placed on top of materials.
  • Care should be taken not to lean on materials.
  • Tracing, or notes of any kind are not to be made by placing paper on top of materials.
  • Pages should be turned gently.

Photocopy service is available at cost when condition of material and copyright restrictions permit. Requests made within 30 minutes before closing may have to be filled the following work day; large orders may take longer.

Cell phone use is not permitted in the reading room.

Tobacco products, food and beverages are not permitted in the reading room.

The Murray and Hong Special Collections exists to preserve the heritage of the past and to collect important records of contemporary culture, making these materials available for scholarly use. These rules are not devised to impede the use of the materials, but rather to guarantee their preservation and orderly administration. We ask readers to share our concern to conserve these resources by observing our regulations governing their use.

Inquiries may be addressed to Murray and Hong Special Collections, Michigan State University,  Main Library, 366 W. Circle Dr., East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1048. Telephone: 517-884-6471. 

Murray and Hong Special Collections stacks are located in the lower level of the East Wing of the Main Library.  The reading room is in the center lobby on the first floor.

Normal Murray and Hong Special Collections hours are: 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays; 9:00 a.m.-9:00 p.m. on Wednesdays; 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. on Saturdays, and 1:00 p.m.- 5:00 p.m. on Sundays.

Michigan State University