After using one or more of the indexes in this section, refer to the next section of this guide "The Next Step" for directions on how to find the periodical articles you seek in the M.S.U. Libraries. Be sure to write down, or print out, the citations to the articles you want to read, AS YOU GO THROUGH THE PROCESS OF LOOKING THEM UP!
Two resources, Church Missionary Society Periodicals and American Religion: Denominational Newspapers offer full texts within the resource.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics. It is updated monthly.
Full-text articles and reviews from over 480 journals (the Atla PLUS part)
Over 2.8 million records, including:
Indexing of 2300 plus journal titles in total, more than 1,000 of which are currently being indexed,
More than 276,000 essay records,
More than 940,000 review records,
More than 411,000 book records.
Once a stand-alone product specific to Catholicism (the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index), Atla CPLI content now enhances Atla RDB with the addition of more than 500,000 additional records.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada. It has selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. The database also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities, with links to full texts of the articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high qualtiy indexing for almost 700 journals, of which 470 are peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. Fields indexed: archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, world literature.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals, Modules I and II This link opens in a new window
From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter. Module I is comprised of periodicals published by the Church Missionary Society and South American Missionary Society from 1804-2009. Module II contains periodicals and annual reports published by the Church Missionary Society and its auxiliaries, and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society, from 1816-1986.
Documents are indexed by places (region, city, and mission station), countries, names and key search terms.
American Religion: Denominational Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This resource provides:
- Exclusive focus on American denominational newspapers during the age of religion
- More than 320 newspapers from 30-plus states, all published between 1799 and 1900
- Important commentary on such social issues as slavery, women’s suffrage and the Temperance movement
Missionary Periodicals Database
This database, created at University of Cambridge and hosted by Yale University Divinity School, records all periodicals concerning foreign missions that were published in Britain from the 18th century through the 1960s. It includes records for 579 periodicals. These can be browsed through an alphabetical title list, or searched by title, issuing body, denomination, place of publication, publisher, region, keyword, or via a clickable map for geographic access. Records provide bibliographic information, notes on the nature and content of the periodicals, and copy location information. Users should be sure to consult the "terms used" link for information about record elements and the "locations" link for expansions of abbreviations and contact information for holding libraries. These two links are at the very bottom of the entry page.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to the European Middle Ages (c.500-1500 A.D.) covering periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, festschriften, and exhibition catalogs in Western European languages. Limiting search results to English language only items is possible. Searches may be conducted in English, French, or German.
To search only the IMB, uncheck IBHR at the top of the search form opposite where it says Free Search at the top.
Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Iter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
The find text at MSU feature is enabled in this database. Look for the red button “check for full text” above the individual records in the database.
International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) is an annual bibliography providing references to books and articles in all areas of study on the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe - literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, law, and the sciences. It is published under the patronage of the International Federation of Societies and Institutes for the Study of the Renaissance. Online coverage from beginning of publication in 1965 to the present. Corresponds to the print set in Main stacks Z 6207 .R4 B5.
Formerly known as Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance (BIHR).
To search only the IBHR, uncheck IMB at the top of the search form opposite where it says Free Search at the top.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of British and Irish History is the major index to secondary articles about British, Scottish, Welsh, Northern Irish, and Irish history. It also indexes primary sources. It is made available online by Brepolis, the online division of the Brepols publishing company, but is produced in partnership with the University of London, Institute of Historical Research and the Royal Historical Society. Originally, this was a print resource called Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History (catalog call no. Z 2016 .A55, located in the Library Remote Storage D), published 1975-2003. BBIH covers books, articles in collective volumes (including conference proceedings and festschriften)and journal articles. Primary source material is indexed as well as much secondary material.
Directions for use: Scroll down to the Subject search line and click on the box "All Subjects." This pulls up a list of different kinds of history, of which "Religious history" is one and "Sources" is another. If you want primary sources, choose "Sources." In either "Religious history" or "Sources" click on one of the words that appears to expand the topic; this can be done several times, with each choice becoming more specific.. When you reach the desired level of specificity, put use the computer's mouse to click a check mark in the box next to the topic. Scroll up; click on "Insert/close" at top right of screen. This pastes your search into the work form. Or, try a free text search using the "all index terms" line on the work from. Click on "Browse" next to all index terms to look for key words. Searching is also possible by place name or personal name on the search work form. Limiting results by chronological time period desired is also possible on the search form, near the bottom.
Irish History Online. Irish History Online is an authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It currently contains approximately 72,000 bibliographic records (January 2011). Material on Northern Ireland is included. Since 2010 Irish History Online has been published separately from the Royal Historical Society bibliography. Irish History Online is now hosted by the Royal Irish Academy (Dublin). It includes bibliographic information on books and pamphlets, articles from journals published in Ireland or internationally, and chapters from books of essays, including Festschriften and conference proceedings.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in over 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles covered include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture and History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature and many more. Most references are not found in general coverage periodical indexes. Online coverage begins in 1988. However, the print version began publication in 1963 and is located in the Main Library at AI 3 .I45.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database is indispensable for research and bibliography by scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. Online, the database contains over 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,100 articles from over 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. It summarizes approximately 800 books each year. Online coverage begins with 1985; however, the print version began publication in 1956 and is in the Main stacks at BS 410 .N35.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts covers journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies from over 450 journals. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the online database dates back to 1978. M.S.U. Libraries does not own any volumes of this index in paper.
Review of Biblical Literature
Review of Biblical Literature (RBL), founded by the Society of Biblical Literature, presents reviews of books in biblical studies and related fields.
Catholic News Archive
Made available by the Catholic Research Resources Alliance. Site offers thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years... Fully text searchable. Also browse by date or title of publication. Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA), is a non-profit alliance of archives and libraries. April, 2019 it contains 14,048 issues comprising 373,563 pages, growing.