FINDING BOOKS AND ARTICLES on Dance:
How do I search for books on my topic?
To search for books in the MSU Libraries on a topic, you will need to use the Online Catalog.
The Online Catalog is a searchable listing of materials owned and
located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journals, government
documents, microforms, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc.
When should I use the Online Catalog?
- To find whether we own a specific book, including its location and call number
- To browse for books on a topic
- To find whether we subscribe to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper
To search for books placed on Reserve for your class, search by course or instructor.
NOTE: You cannot use the Online Catalog to find individual articles within a magazine--you must use a periodical index for that.
Articles of Crticism in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers
FINDING ARTICLES of research:
- JSTOR
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian
Studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature,
mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and
sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent
issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old. Files are in .pdf
format (requires Adobe
Acrobat reader).
Please read the JSTOR Terms and Conditions of Use at http://www.jstor.org/about/terms.html
- Project
Muse
Two hundred journals from 29 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are
currently offered in Project Muse. Muse is a unique collaboration
between the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower
Library at the Johns Hopkins University. Use the pull-down menu for
additional information on individual journals in the collection.
Years available vary but include only recent issues.
- Humanities
Abstracts
Index to articles in over 400 humanities periodicals in archaeology,
art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics,
music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and
world literature.
- ProQuest
ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000
of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of
subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest
Research Library covers titles in the following areas: arts, business,
children, education, general interest, health, humanities,
international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences,
social sciences, and women's interests.
- Periodicals
Index Online
Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) contains more than 1 million
citations to articles in more than 3,000 journals from 1770-1995. These
journals represent popular and scholarly titles in the humanities and
social sciences. 1,000,000 citations are added annually. Although it is
not yet complete, PCI Full Text is a growing repository of full-text
articles enabling one to go directly from the bibliographic citation to
the full text article.
- Music Index
This is and index to books and articles about music, but which contains
many citations to resources about dance. THIS IS ONLY AN INDEX-- you
must search citations in the library catalog to see if the library has
access to the item.
