Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Tests and Testing Information: Books that Include Instruments

A guide to research instruments--it's complicated, don't hesitate to ask for help.

Books in MSU Libraries

Reminder: The Libraries provide access to PsycTESTS database, which should also be consulted for access to instruments.

Note:  The instruments contained in many of the titles listed here are indexed in Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences.

Alcoholism Treatment Assessment Research Instruments.
Call number:HE 20.8308/2:2
Location: Goverment Documents, 3 West

Assessing Alcohol Problems: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers.
Call number:HE 20.8308/2:4
Location: Goverment Documents, 3 West

Assessment and Treatment of Childhood Problems: A Clinician's Guide.
Call number:RJ506.B44 S37 2002
Location: Main Library, Basement Center

Clinical Assessment for Social Workers.
Call number: HV40.35 .J67 1995
Location: Main Library, 3 East

The Clinical Measurement Package: A Field Manual.
Call number: RC469 .H83 1982
Location: Main Library, Basement West

A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests: Administration, Norms, and Commentary.
Call number: RC386.6 .N48 S67 2006
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 Center

Compendium of Quality of Life Instruments.
Call number: RA407 .C65 1998
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 Center

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment.
Call number: BF176 .C654 2004
Location: Main Library, 2 East

Conceptualizing and Measuring "Healthy Marriage" for Empirical Research and Evaluation Studies: A Compendium of Measures.
Part I and Part II. Online from Child Trends, in sections including Relationship/Marital Violence, Communication, Marriage and Stressful Life Events, Intimacy, Marriage and Substance Use, Gender Roles, Commitment, Attitudes to Marriage/Relationships, Love, Separation/Divorce, Sexual Intimacy, Relationship Marital Conflicts, Marital Support.

Drug Abuse Instrument Handbook: Selected Items for Psychosocial Drug Research.
Call number: HV5809 .N44 1976
Location: Main Library, 3 East
Call number:  HE 20.8214: 12
Location:  Gov Doc, 3 West

Experience of Work: a Compendium and Review of 249 Measures and Their Use.
Call number: HD6955 .E97
Location: Main Library, 3 East

Gender Roles A Handbook of Tests and Measures.
Call number: HM253 .B43 1990
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 Center

Handbook of Adolescent Sexuality and Pregnancy: Research and Evaluation Instruments.
Call number: HQ759.4 .H367 1993      
Location: Main Library Oversized Collection, Basement Center

Handbook of Clinical Assessment of Children and Adolescents.
Call number: RJ500.5 .H37 1987      
Location: Main Library, Basement Center

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques.
Call number: HQ728 .T68 2001       (Volume 3 contains instruments)
Location: Main Library, 3 East  and Closed Reference, 1 Center

Handbook of Geriatric Assessment.
Call number: RC953 .G34 2003 (3rd edition)
Location: Main Library, Basement West
Call number: RC953 .G35 1995 (2nd edition)
Location: Main Library, Basement West

Handbook of Multicultural Measures.
Call number: HM 1271 G36 Online

Handbook of Organizational Measurement.
Call number: HM131 .P728 1986
Location: Main Library, 3 East

Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. (The book's accompanying CD has measures)
Call number: RC473.P78 A46 2000
Location: Book—Reference, 1 Center; CD—Digital/Media Center, 4 West

Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement.
Call number: H62 .M44 2002
Location: Main Library, 3 East
 

Books, cont.

Handbook of Scales for Research in Crime and Delinquency.
Call number: HV9274 .B76 1983
Location: Main Library, 3 East

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures.
Call number: HQ60 .H36 2011
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 Center
Call number: HQ60 .H36 1998
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 Center

Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations.
Call number: BF176 .H37 1996
Location: Main Library, 2 East

Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences.
Call number: LB3051 .L4543 2000 (2nd edition)
Call number: LB3051 .L4543 1997
Location: Main Library, 4 East

Instruments for Use in Nursing Education Research.
Call number: RT 71 .I6
Location: Main Library, Basement Center

Measurement Of Love and Intimate Relations: Theories, Scales, and Applications for Love Development, Maintenance, And Dissolution.
Call number: HM132 .T465 1993
Location: Main Library, 3 East

Measurement Tools in Patient Education
Call Number: R 727.4 .M4 2003
Location:  Main Library, Basement West

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook.
Call number: BF176 .C66 2013 (2 volumes)
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 Center
Previous editions located at BF176 .C66 Main Library, 2 East

Measures of Political Attitudes.
Call number: JA74.5 .M43 1999
Location: Main Library, 3 East

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes.
Call number: BF698.4 .M38 1990
Location: Main Library, 2 East

Measures of Religiosity.
Call number: BR110 .M43 1999
Location: Main Library, 2 East

Measuring Bullying, Victimization, Perpetration, and Bystander Experiences: A Compendium of Assessment Tools.
Call number: HE 20.7952:B 87  Online
Location Online

Measuring Health : A Guide to Rating Scales and Questionnaires.
Call number: RA408.5 .M324 1996 (2nd edition)
Location: Main Library, Basement West
Call number: RA408.5 .M324 1987
Location: Main Library, Basement West

Positive Psychological Assessment:  A Handbook of Models and Measures
Call Number:  BF 176 ,P67 2003
Location:  Main Library, 2 East

Practitioner's Guide to Empirically Based Measures of Anxiety.
Call number: RC531 .P73 2001 and Online
Location: Main Library, Basement, West

Practitioner's Guide to Empirically Based Measures of Depression.
Call number: RC537 .P6924 2000 and Online
Location: Main Library, Basement, West

Quality of Life: assessment, analysis and interpretation
Call number:  R 852 .F39 2000 and Online
Location:  Main Library, Basement, West

Rating Scales in Mental Health.
Call number: RC473 .P78 S245 2003
Location: Main Library, Basement West
Call number: RC473 .P78 S357 2001
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 Center

Research Instruments In Social Gerontology, 3 volumes.
Call number:HQ1061 .R44 1982
Location: Main Library, 3 East

Sex And Gender Issues: A Handbook Of Tests And Measures.
Call number: BF692 .B38 1990
Location: Main Library, 2 East

Sourcebook of Adult Assessment Strategies.
Call number: RC473.P78 S38 1995
Location: Main Library, Basement West

Taking the measure of work : a guide to validated scales for organizational research and diagnosis
Call number: HM 786 .F54 2002
Location: Main Library, 3 East

Women And Women's Issues: A Handbook Of Tests And Measures.
Call number: HQ1180 .B43
Location: Main Library Reference, 1 East

Michigan State University