Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use an index to identify scholarly periodical articles. The steps in the process are:
Choose an index.
Do the search, using keywords or controlled vocabulary or both.
Modify the strategy to improve results if necessary.
Understand the citations retrieved. Print, save, e-mail, or export them, if desired.
Find the full text of the article in the Library, by following links in the index or looking up the journal title in the online catalog. Full texts may be online, on paper, or on microform.
Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
The find text at MSU feature is enabled in this database. Look for the red button “check for full text” above the individual records in the database.
International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance
The International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) is an annual bibliography providing references to books and articles in all areas of study on the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe - literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, law, and the sciences. It is published under the patronage of the International Federation of Societies and Institutes for the Study of the Renaissance. Online coverage from beginning of publication in 1965 to the present. Corresponds to the print set in Main stacks Z 6207 .R4 B5.
Formerly known as Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance (BIHR).
To search only the IBHR, uncheck IMB at the top of the search form opposite where it says Free Search at the top.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
America History and Life
America: History & Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada. It has selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. The database also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics. It is updated monthly.
Full-text articles and reviews from over 480 journals (the Atla PLUS part)
Over 2.8 million records, including:
Indexing of 2300 plus journal titles in total, more than 1,000 of which are currently being indexed,
More than 276,000 essay records,
More than 940,000 review records,
More than 411,000 book records.
Once a stand-alone product specific to Catholicism (the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index), Atla CPLI content now enhances Atla RDB with the addition of more than 500,000 additional records.
Humanities Full Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online contains hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Some content goes back over 200 years. It includes full texts from Archivum Historicum Societatis Iesu from 1932-1995, for instance, which is a major journal of research on the history of the Jesuits.
Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Muse is a unique collaboration between the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University. The system began in 2003 and focuses on more recent years' content. The subject indexing used is the Library of Congress' system, which we use for subject searches in our online catalog.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.
Use these guides below to find periodical indexes for various non-Western European Countries.