Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exploring Michigan History video series
Detroit News Photo Store
Viewing this archive of contemporary and historic photos is free. One must pay for print copies
Part of H-Net, this site "...seeks to feature dialogues in the discipline, publish syllabi, outlines, handouts, bibliographies, tables of contents of journals, guides to term papers, listings of new sources, library catalogs and archives, and reports on new software, datasets and cd-roms."
Historical Society of Michigan's Resources
Provides lists of local historical societies; educational resources; research links, and storytellers, speakers & musicians as well as access to the Society's online library catalog.
Making of Modern Michigan
"...includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through over 4,500 different subjects of photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more."
MeL Michigana (Michigan eLibrary)
Eclectic listing of digital projects, museums, historical societies, State Historical Parks, and genealogical databases.
Michigan American Local History Network
"...a central point of entry to independent web sites with historical or genealogical content."
Michigan County Histories and Atlases
"comprised of 428 digitized titles (many composed of multiple volumes) published before 1923. The collection offers all members of the community free keyword searching and page-by-page access to digitized reproductions of Michigan county histories and atlases as a resource for historical and genealogical research."
Michigan's Historic Sites Online
Contains information and photos on over 3,500 sites of "National Historic Landmarks, properties listed in the National Register of Historic Places and the State Register of Historic Sites, as well as Michigan Historical Markers."
Michigana (Sabin Collection): Sources in U.S. History Online
This digital archive documents the history of the State of Michigan. Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books.
"a growing collection of unique historical information that - through digitized source documents, maps, films, images, oral histories and artifacts - creatively tells the stories of Michigan's families, homes, businesses, communities and landscapes."
Virtual Motor City
These "digitized images in the project represent a small subset of the Detroit News Collection, one of the premier photojournalistic resources freely available from a national-level newspaper and held at the Reuther Library." Also includes Detroit News newsreel motion pictures from the mid- to late- 1920s,