Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Michigan State University Libraries
Geography & Maps
Search this Guide
Michigan History: Geography & Maps
Michigan Bibliographies Series
Other Reference Works
Arts & Music
Geography & Maps
Searching Michigan in the catalog
MI in the Civil War
Military & Unit Histories
Archives of Michigan
Bentley Historical Library (UM)
Clarke Historical Library (CMU)
Ford Presidential Library
Library of Michigan
MSU Archives & Historical Collections
U.S. National Archives Great Lakes Region
Walter P. Reuther Librarry (WSU)
MI Historical Magazine
Articles (scholarly and popular press)
Primary Resources (including images)
Bibliography of the printed maps of Michigan, 1804-1880, with a series of over one hundred reproductions of maps constituting an historical atlas of the Great lakes and Michigan
539 p. Published 1931
Geographers' Mirror of Michigan; A Bibliography of Professional Writings.
37 leaves Published 1964
Lake Michigan bibliography
2 v. Published 1989
List of Cartographic Records of the Michigan Department of Conservation, Lands Division
2 v. Published 1962
Michigan Atlases and Plat Books : A Checklist 1872-1973
178 p. Published 1975
Atlas of Michigan
242 p. Published 1977
Atlas of the state of Michigan
CD-ROM. Published 2004. Reproduction of 1873 ed. Includes six railway maps.
Atlas of the state of Michigan, including statistics and descriptions of its topography, hydrography, climate, natural and civil history, railways, educational institutions, material resources
162 p. Published 1873
Early Mapping of Michigan and the Great Lakes, 1744-1862 -
Online version of an 2010 MSU Library exhibit which displayed sixteen original antique maps from the MSU Map Library collection
Footsteps : a biography of the elected Shiawassee County surveyors, 1837-1997, and Michigan statutes relating to the office
348 p. Published 1997
History of Michigan counties
MSU Library has only the 1968 edition (7 p.) The Library of Michigan 1968, 1971 & 1999.
The title is misleading; the publication gives one-sentence origins of a county's name.
Indian names in Michigan
277 p. Published 1986
Michigan Place Names : The History of the Founding and the Naming of More Than Five Thousand Past and Present Michigan Communities.
673 p. 1986. Reprint of 1973 ed.
Paddling across the peninsula : an important cross-Michigan canoe route during the French regime
63 p. Published 2003
Special instructions to deputy surveyors in Michigan, 1808-1854
379 p. Published 1990
Surveyors of the public lands in Michigan, 1808-2000
426 p. Published 2001
Film Studies & Theatre
Local History >>
Feb 26, 2021 12:52 PM
Login to LibApps
Site A to Z
MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Notice of Nondescrimination
© Michigan State University Board of Trustees