Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the Detroit Free Press (1923-1999)
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital image database containing over 1 million images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
American Memory Project This link opens in a new window
American Memory is a gateway to several collections held at the Library of Congress that document the American experience. There are over 100 collections available, which you can browse by subject, time period, location, or format. Materials included in these collections date from 1400 – present and include manuscripts, maps, photographs, sheet music, sound recordings, and much more.
Making of Modern Michigan
The Making of Modern Michigan is a collaborative project involving 52 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through over 4,500 different subjects of photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.
MSUL has an entire collection of planning reports relevant to many Michigan places.
Proquest Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
This database provides digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of towns and cities from 1867-1970 in California, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Washington, and the District of Columbia. The maps contain information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape, heights, and function of structures. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, gas and water utilities, and house and block numbers.