Skip to Main Content

Military, Naval & Aerospace History: A Guide to Resources: General Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

General Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Age of wars of religion, 1000-1650 : an encyclopedia of global warfare and civilization
Pub. 2006. 2 vols.
Air warfare: an international encyclopedia
Pub. 2002. 2 vols.
Department of Defense dictionary of military and associated terms
Pub. 2010. 1 vol. (various pagings)
Dictionary of military history and the art of war
Pub. 1994. 916 p.
Dictionary of modern strategy and tactics
Dictionary of modern war
Pub. 1991. 680 p.
Dictionary of soldier talk
Pub. 1984. 383 p.
Encyclopedia of barbarian Europe : society in transformation
Pub. 2003. 419 p.
Encyclopedia of military history from 3500 B.C. to the present
Pub. 1986. 2nd rev. ed. 1524 p.
Encyclopedia of naval history
Pub. 1998. 440 p.
Facts on File dictionary of military science
Pub. 1989. 498 p.
Farrow's military encyclopedia: a dictionary of military knowledge.
Pub. 1885. 3 vols.
Ground warfare : an international encyclopedia
Pub. 2002. 3 vols.
Hutchinson dictionary of ancient & medieval warfare
Pub. 1998. 365 p.
International encyclopedia of military history
Pub. 2006. 2 vols.
International military and defense encyclopedia
Pub. 1993. 6 vol.
Magill's guide to military history
Pub. 2001. 5 vols.
Naval warfare : an international encyclopedia
Pub. 2002. 3 vols.
Oxford companion to military history
Pub. 2001. 1048 p.
Oxford encyclopedia of medieval warfare and military technology
Pub. 2010. 3 vols.
Penguin encyclopedia of modern warfare 1850 to the present day
Pub. 1991. 373 p.
Penguin encyclopedia of weapons and military technology : prehistory to the present day
391 p.
Shakespeare's military language : a dictionary
Pub. 2000. 423 p.
Swear like a trooper : a dictionary of military terms and phrases
United States Air Force dictionary
Pub. 1956. 578 p.

Subject Guide

Michael Rodriguez

Email Me

Subjects: Film Studies & Theatre, History, American, Literature, Performing Arts