You may have used PubMed when looking for current articles about medicine, but it also includes articles dating back to 1946 (and the National Library of Medicine indexes articles going back to the 1870s in other databases--if you want these, contact me and I can help you find them). The older articles were considered secondary sources when they were published, in that people read them to gain scientific information. At this point, most of the science in these articles is outdated, but they can still be very useful for learning about the history of medicine. If you want to learn about what people in the 1950s believed about what cancer was, or how alcoholism could be cured, PubMed is a good place to look.
PubMed (Medline)This link opens in a new window1966-
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Note: Beginning June 1, 2021, users of NCBI services will need to login with their MSU Net ID instead of a NCBI-generated account. The NLM has more information about this change and how to link your existing NCBI account with your MSU Net ID. A Microsoft Word document containing step by step instructions is avaialble for download.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
This resource aims to represent a range of key food and drink history stories from the evolution of food within everyday life to haute cuisine, charting key issues around agriculture and food production, and looking into advertising histories of key food and drink brands. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status. Material has been sourced from institutions across the United States (including Michigan State University), the United Kingdom and Australia with a focus on gaining as global a view on food history as possible. The bulk of the material ranges from the sixteenth century to the early twenty-first century. Module 2 includes six rare Apicius cookbooks, the earliest of which dates from the ninth century.
John Snow's contributions during the early years of inhalation anesthesia, and his investigations during two mid-century cholera epidemics in Victorian London, are landmarks in anesthesiology, epidemiology, medical cartography, and public health. An important full-text collection of Historical Medicine documents.
Medical Services and Warfare presents digitized primary source material including military, scientific, professional and personal perspectives on medicine during conflicts across the globe from 1850-1949. Students and scholars can research medical developments including x-rays, plastic surgery and artificial limbs, with a focus on rehabilitation, nursing and the psychological toll of war. Highlights include the personal correspondence of Florence Nightingale and the scientific notebooks of Alexander Fleming (both now fully searchable thanks to innovative Handwritten Text Recognition technology), the diaries of VADs, hospital records, and literature from the Red Cross.
Enabling comparisons of medical advances across conflicts, the resource includes documents from the Crimean War, the Boer Wars, the American Civil War, the First World War, the Spanish Civil War, the Second World War and inter- and post-war periods. Through analogous hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, users can chart the progress of scientific advances informed by the experience of war.
Includes Module I: 1850-1927, and Module II: 1928-1949.
This unique collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.
Public Health: Global Origins of Modern Health Policy and Management is a fully searchable digitized collection that captures international failures and successes, offering valuable insight for students and researchers in a variety of disciplines. Topics addressed include environmental pollution, developing vaccines and birth control, funding the World Health Organization, educating people about food safety and water quality, preparing regions for natural and other disasters, and much more.
This collection comprehensively documents major developments in U.S. nuclear weapons policies and programs from the mid-1950s through 1968. The period that set the nuclear stage for the decades of the Cold War that followed. Given the importance of the nuclear competition to superpower tensions during the post-World War II era, not only as a source of friction in itself but as an element that made the tensions inconceivably dangerous, the documents in this collection introduce the reader to one of the critical inner mechanisms of the Cold War.
Spanning the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki through the recent IAEA inspections of Iraq's nuclear program, Nuclear Non-Proliferation offers researchers the most complete set of primary source materials to U.S. non-proliferation policy available.