LibGuides: Online U.K. and Irish Newspapers: Newspapers

Newspapers

Arranged roughly by our start dates.

1785- Not a newspaper per se but an annual publication about events around the world that were of concern/interest to the British. Link goes to the HathiTrust Digital Library. Choose Advanced Catalog Search. Change drop down arrow to Search by Title and put "Annual Register" in quotation marks, into the search box. Click on the gray Advanced Search button. After you get your results, along the left side use the place of publication filter and check United Kingdom. The first entry retrieved goes back the farthest, I think. Click on the entry to see the full catalog record. Scroll down to the links to the full text by year/institution.

1791-1900 Observer (London) For 1901-2003 scroll farther down in the list.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library.
Includes: British Journal, Daily Courant, Daily Gazetteer, Daily Post, Evening Post, General Advertiser, Lloyd's Evening Post and British Chronicle, London Chronicle, London Evening Post, London Gazette, Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser, St. James' Chronicle or, British Evening Post, Whitehall Evening Post, or London Intelligencer and hundreds of others
British Newspapers 1600-1950 This link opens in a new window
Indexing and links to full texts of newspaper articles in London and English provincial newspapers. Also covers a few Continental newspapers. We have parts 1-3.
Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
Search the complete digital edition of The Times (London) to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. For online access to the London Times 1985 onwards, check the online catalog using a periodical title search for Times. It is also available on microfilm in the Hollander Make Central, 2nd floor West wing.
Palmer's Index to the Times of London This link opens in a new window
Index to articles appearing in the Times of London from 1790-1905. Full text is available for the period 1800 (January 9) through 1870 in the current release of the database.
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 19th Century British Library Newspapers provides researchers with the most comprehensive collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain available. This full-text, fully searchable digital archive includes 50 papers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world. Includes Parts 1 and 2.

Multidisciplinary in scope, 19th Century British Library Newspapers includes:

Birmingham Daily Post
The Chartist
Freeman's Journal
Glasgow Herald
Goleuad
Illustrated Police News
Liverpool Mercury
Pall Mall Gazette
And many others
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
Sunday edition of the London Times from 1822-2016, one of the world's most important English language newspapers. For the daily edition see Times Digital Archive 1785-2019, another electronic resource.

Scotsman Historical Archive

1817-1950 Major Scottish newspaper. This is in the process of being digitized. Fall, 2022 it is available 1817-1858; more will be coming, to 1950 ultimately. See near bottom of list for link to more recent issues.

Manchester Guardian, 1821-1825; 1828-1900; 1901-1959; 1959-2003

Telegraph Historical Archive

1855-2000 One of the world's highest circulating newspapers in the English language. Includes also the Sunday issues from 1961-2000. The BBC describes it as "the newspaper of the establishment." We also offer this newspaper post 2000, here.

Irish Times 1874-1920; 1921- From Dublin, Ireland. For 1921- Use Advanced Search. Leave the pubid number in the top box of advanced search. Add your search words on the next line(s).

International Herald Tribune Archive

1887-2013 Complete archive from its inception as the European edition of the New York Herald and later the European edition of the New York Herald Tribune. Ends with last issue of International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as International New York Times.

Financial Times

1888-2021 The world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper.

Daily Mail Historical Archive

1896-2016 Progressive newspaper for ordinary, busy people. For emphasis and scope see the essay about its history in the "Essays" section of the web site.

1901-2003 Observer (London) Click on Advanced search. Leave pubid number in top box. Add your search words on next line(s).

1903-2000 Mirror Historical Archive

Intended as a paper for women staffed with women journalists, after its first year it became a working-class paper. The owner in the 1930s was a friend of both Mussolini and Hitler. Post WWII it was the first British national paper to adopt New York tabloid style, with bigger headlines, shorter stories, and more abundant illustrations. It was the best-selling U.K. daily tabloid paper in the 1960s. It has consistently supported the Labour Party since WWII.

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
The Times Literary Supplement is the weekly book review section of the Times (London) newspaper. In function it is similar to, but more extensive than, the New York Times Book Review. It is a major source for scholarly book reviews in humanities, social sciences, and the arts. MSU Libraries subscribes to the current weekly edition also; check the online catalog. The reviews in TLS are indexed in Book Review Index Online.
Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980 This link opens in a new window
An index to the Times of London covering all disciplines and events for 75 years in the 20th century. Not always reliable. If you believe your search results do not reflect all the information you believe must be there, use the book indexes to the London Times, Main Library, AI 21 .T46. M.S.U. Libraries has microfilm of this newspaper for 1906 to the present in PRR/Microforms, 2nd floor, west wing.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
During World War Two and its aftermath, journalism played a vital role in keeping servicemen informed and connected. This collection consists of newspapers published during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Swahili, and other African dialects. Includes Modules I and II.

Independent (London)

1986-2016 Centrist politically. Economic stance is liberal, pro-market. Current issues online, here.

Scotsman or Scotsman

1993-2016 from various aggregators, a subscription resource for us, not owned content. Leave the AN musc number in the top line.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive. Upon entry, click on down arrow where it says All countries. In the display of countries that comes up choose U.K. or Ireland.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Online U.K. and Irish Newspapers: Newspapers

Newspapers