Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Veterinary Medicine

Trends and other factors that influence collection practices

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

A. Anticipated Future Trends

Collecting should follow and anticipate, when possible, major trends and developments in veterinary medicine. The collection should reflect the College of Veterinary Medicine's redesigned competency-based curriculum, and support new and emerging areas of research and practice such as comparative medicine and veterinary public health. There is an increased demand for electronic resources and information formats beyond the traditional books and journals, including diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

B. Relationships with Other Resources

Murray and Hong Special Collections

Murray and Hong Special Collections houses an extensive Veterinary Medicine Historical Collection. This non-circulating collection features over 2,000 books and manuscripts which document the history and development of veterinary science and medicine up to the mid-nineteenth century.

Law Library

Materials related to legal aspects of veterinary medicine, particularly animal law and medical malpractice, are collected primarily by the MSU College of Law Library. The Animal Legal and Historical Center, part of the MSU College of Law, also provides a comprehensive repository of information about animal law. However, a small number of books used in the veterinary curriculum, primarily on the topic of animal welfare, are held on reserve in the Main Library.

Big Ten Academic Alliance

MSU and its Libraries are a member of the Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA). Consortial purchases with the BTAA have added important online resources, especially large journal and ebook packages.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

Animal Science livestock physiology, reproduction, diseases, welfare, behavior
Biological/Biomedical Sciences biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, physiology of animals
Biological Sciences/Natural History zoology, animal physiology, development, behavior
Medicine oncology, dermatology, nutrition, laboratory and human medicine
Murray and Hong Special Collections rare veterinary medicine books
Michigan State University