LibGuides: Computer Science and Engineering: Articles and Papers

Indexes and Databases

Indexes and databases are the primary tools for finding which publications have information on a particular topic. Some indexes only search the content of journals while others search the content of a wide range of sources such as journals, conference proceedings, books, reports and patents. No one index searches all publications. From the electronic resource index search page it is possible to search for indexes by title or by a subject such as Computers or Engineering. In addition, indexes and databases that search publications from other subject areas such as Math and Physics can provide information useful to computer science faculty, staff and students.

Below is a list of some of the most commonly used databases for computer science & engineering.

ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library provides searchable access to the full-text of all of the publication from ACM dating back to the 1950s; almost 4 million total publications and almost 800,000 full-text items.
CiteSeerX
CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.

Computer Source
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

dblp Computer Science Bibliography
The dblp computer science bibliography provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies
The premier web-based information technology reports library designed exclusively for the academic community. Continually updated and fully searchable, FAITS contains hundreds of carefully researched, plainly written, and easy-to-understand IT, security, and communications technology reports.
IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to all of the publications of the IEEE, IET, and several other publishing partners. Content includes books, conference proceedings, journals, magazines, standards, and courses. There are over 6 million documents related to electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences.

SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 450,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers are added annually.

Other Helpful Databases

Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers with 14 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. Available on Engineering Village, users get results that are consistently accurate. Relevant. Up-to-date. And easy to find. Compendex indexes 1,031 journals that contain articles-in-press. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering.
MathSciNet
1940-
A searchable Web database published by the American Mathematical Society covering research literature in mathematics as well as applied mathematics literature in areas such as physics, engineering and biology
Scopus
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

E-journals

E-journals can be accessed in a number of different ways, through our online catalog, and our A to Z Title List of Electronic Journals. Some can also be accessed from online indexes. Most of the e-journals that the MSU Libraries subscribe to can be accessed from anywhere on-campus. An example of an e-journal would be the Journal of Engineering Materials and Technology. The number of years available online varies by journal title.