LibGuides: Electronic Resources: Databases

Need Help? Ask A Librarian!

Call us: 517-353-8700

Databases

Databases allow you to search the content of scholarly journals, magazines and other materials. Most include summary abstracts describing article content, and some provide the full text of articles. Many cover specific disciplines or areas of study; while others are general or cross-disciplinary.

Browse the Database List by Subject, Title or Vendor.

License Restrictions

Commonly Used Electronic Resources

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Gale Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 8,000 journals, mostly peer-reviewed, all with full manual indexing and backfile content, covering a variety of academic disciplines from STM to the humanities. The majority of the content is available in full-text, both in HTML and PDF formats.
Ebook Central ebooks (formerly Ebrary) This link opens in a new window Collection of downloadable ebooks in all areas of scholarship.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window Contains these databases: American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS CINAHL Plus with Full Text Communication and Mass Media Complete Computer Science Index Environment Index Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index Gender Studies Database Hospitality & Tourism Complete Index Islamicus Index to Jewish Periodicals Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts New Testament Abstracts Old Testament Abstracts SPORTDiscus Race Relations Abstracts
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window Gale PowerSearch provides the ability to cross-search the following resources: InfoTrac Custom 150 Full Text Newspapers New York Times Grand Rapids Press Michigan Newspapers Professional Collection General Reference Center Gold Health Reference Center Academic LegalTrac Computer Database Expanded Academic ASAP General Business File ASAP InfoTrac OneFile Junior Edition Student Edition Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Includes over 200 reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. **To use Company Dossier, pop up blocker must be turned off.** To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from this database, use Text Assembler.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window The Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a database covering a variety of social issues including gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, and terrorism. This resource contains articles from the popular Greenhaven Press series Opposing Viewpoints, At Issue, Current Controversies, and Contemporary Issues Companion Series, as well as statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of special interest groups and more.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Muse is a unique collaboration between the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University. Years available vary by journal.
ProQuest (All databases) This link opens in a new window
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window 1966- MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Note: Beginning June 1, 2021, users of NCBI services will need to login with their MSU Net ID instead of a NCBI-generated account. The NLM has more information about this change and how to link your existing NCBI account with your MSU Net ID. A Microsoft Word document containing step by step instructions is avaialble for download.
SAGE Complete Reference Collection This link opens in a new window Includes SAGE Encyclopedias and Handbooks.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes.

MSU Libraries

Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources: Databases

Need Help? Ask A Librarian!

Databases

License Restrictions

Commonly Used Electronic Resources