LibGuides: Electronic Resources: Data & Statistics

Data & Statistics

Data and statistics consist of numeric information. This can be either social and economic data sets that can be analyzed using statistical software applications, or statistical tables that are a collection of numerical facts. For more on data resources in the library, visit Library Data Services.

Browse Data & Statistics by Subject, Title, or Vendor.

License Restrictions

Commonly Used Resources for Data & Statistics

Data.Census.gov This link opens in a new window Data.Census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data Archive This link opens in a new window The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Search this site for holdings. Data downloads are free of charge by registering with an MSU email address.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others. Includes plumbing and kitchen data from 2011-2015 US Census Annual Community Survey.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Replaces the Census Bureau publication (1878-2012).
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Includes ProQuest Statistical Datasets and the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [It is the WWW version of 3 print indexing sources: American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference Index (SRI).] Links to selected full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. The Library owns almost all the materials indexed in ProQuest Statistical Insight.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window ***Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.*** A web-based mapping tool that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Create maps and reports from selected census statistics. 1790 to 1930: County, state and national data. 1940-2000: Census tract, county, state and national data. 2006- : ACS. Also includes religion data, U.S. Election data, UK Census 2011 data, and Ireland Religion data. Generate thematic maps for census tracts.
Statista This link opens in a new window Provides statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods and services, sports, technology, transportation, and much more.
UNData This link opens in a new window UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources.

MSU Libraries

Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources: Data & Statistics

Data & Statistics

License Restrictions

Commonly Used Resources for Data & Statistics