The Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum presents this online collection of the most important and influential 19th and early 20th century American cookbooks. The digital archive will include page images of 75 cookbooks in the MSU Library's collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions. The site will also feature a glossary of cookery terms, essays by culinary historian Jan Longone, and multidimensional images of antique cooking implements from the collections of the MSU Museum.
This resource aims to represent a range of key food and drink history stories from the evolution of food within everyday life to haute cuisine, charting key issues around agriculture and food production, and looking into advertising histories of key food and drink brands. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status. Material has been sourced from institutions across the United States (including Michigan State University), the United Kingdom and Australia with a focus on gaining as global a view on food history as possible. The bulk of the material ranges from the sixteenth century to the early twenty-first century. Module 2 includes six rare Apicius cookbooks, the earliest of which dates from the ninth century.
A database of primary and secondary sources on topics such as organic farming/small farms, school lunch programs, childhood nutrition, food marketing and advertising, packaging, food industry, environmental impact of GMOs, food security, famine, vegetarianism, labor practices, food safety, wine making, obesity, gender roles through history, food habits around the world, etc. Includes documentary films, commercials, interviews, menus, cookbooks, advertisements, posters, government documents, secondary sources, and more.
Includes historical nutrition education materials from the federal government, such as posters, recipes, and radio transcripts, as well as current nutrition education materials reviewed by the Dietary Guidance Review Committee.
Thousands of food and cookery related publications produced primarily by companies in the United States from the late nineteenth century up to the present. The collection provides a rich resource to study the evolution and history of advertising, food products, individual companies, technology, food preparation, and food production.