LibGuides: HB 489: Hospitality Business Strategy: Home

PowerPoint Presentation

Class Presentation

Best Places to Start

Mintel
Provides market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. The reports analyze market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics. Also, has new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. ***Formerly: Mintel Academic Reports and Mintel GNPD***
IBISWorld
Provides readable high level analysis for industries from the United States, some US states, worldwide, and in Canada and China. Includes supply chain, market share, and ease of entry industry data.
SimplyAnalytics
***Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.***
A web-based mapping tool that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.

Additional Databases

Richard K. Miller & Associates Publications
RKMA publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Handbooks are: Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile; Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook; Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook; International Consumer Markets; Leisure Business Market Research Handbook; Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook; Retail Business Market Research Handbook; Sports Marketing; and Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook

Statista
***If you receive error messages, clear your browser history and try again.*** Provides statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods and services, sports, technology, transportation, and much more.
eMarketer
eMarketer provides market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics.
ProQuest One Business
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist. Also has videos, ebooks, and company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and analyst reports from J.P. Morgan.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Includes full-text articles, company and country reports, and books.
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface
This enhanced business searching interface of BSC provides easy access to articles, magazines, company financial data, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
MarketLine
Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Contains directory information on over 14 million U.S. and over 1.4 million Canadian businesses, including detailed information for private companies and franchise locations. ***Previously known as ReferenceUSA.***