Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Memoir, Diaries & Letters
For memoirs, try a keyword search Holocaust personal narratives
For accounts written during the Holocaust, try Holocaust diaries or Holocaust correspondence
To narrow your search, add a geographical term, e.g. Poland
Search and borrow from Michigan public and academic libraries.
For MSU students/faculty/staff: interlibrary loan from consortium of research libraries.
USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive This link opens in a new window
Search and view more than 50,000 video testimonies of Holocaust survivors, rescuers, and liberators. Need MSUnet ID & password to access from off-campus. First time users must register to create a personal login. Non-MSU affiliates can come into the library to use the database.
Designed for use by secondary school educators with their students. Over 1500 testimonies. Educators need to register. Includes tools for students to create videos within the site, and other resources for educators.
USC Shoah Archive videos on YouTube
Full length testimonies from USC Shoah Foundation Archive. Indexing and sophisticated searching not available here.
In Search of the Drowned: Testimonies and Testimonial Fragments of the Holocaust
A unique way to access Holocaust testimonies through common experiences of suffering. Full testimonies (transcripts and videos) included. From the Yale Fortunoff Archive, USC Shoah Foundation, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Open access.
Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive
Entire archive of over 150 survivor interviews is freely and fully available online, no registration or login required. Each video or audio interview includes a text transcript and is divided into chapters. Project based at UM-Dearborn and interviewees are primarily from the Detroit metro area.
Selected Testimonies from USC Shoah Archive on DVD at MSU Libraries
36 testimonies available for viewing in MSU Main Library Digital Multimedia Center (4W). Includes women survivors of Ravensbruck and Bergen-Belsen, men who were in Buchenwald as boys, and well-known testimonies from survivors of Auschwitz-Birkenau. Link here is to biographical profile and minute-by-minute testimony indexing for these 36 individuals.