"BlogsCanada is a blogging resource site and directory of Canadian
blogs...The purpose of BlogsCanada is to provide helpful information
for bloggers and those interested in blogs and blogging."
- Canada Year Book Historical Collection, 1867 to 1967
"...the wealth of historical data in Statistics Canada's annual
Canada Year Book is available free on the Internet in the Canada Year
Book Historical Collection. It covers the first century of Canada's
history, from 1867 to 1967, with historical text, tables, charts and
maps, supplemented by interconnected learning resources for students
- Canada's Digital Collections
Via the Internet Archive's "Wayback Machine." The old description:
"Canada's Digital Collections showcases over 400 Web sites celebrating
Canada's history, geography, science, technology and culture. These
fascinating Web sites range from treasures of federal institutions,
such as the National Library, the National Archives and the Museum of
Civilization, to the local histories and way of life of Canadian
communities. Canada's Digital Collections also features a growing set
of on-line educational resources, such as curriculum units, classroom
activities, quizzes and games. One of the largest of Canadian material
on the Internet, Canada's Digital Collections has employed more than
2,700 young Canadians to date, under contract to Industry Canada. The
program is funded by the federal Youth Employment Strategy."
- Canadian Economy Online
"This one-stop guide to the national economy lets you check out
statistics, access a wealth of federal government information and learn
more about economici concepts and events."
- Canadian Encyclopedia Online
The encyclopedia bills itself as "the authoritative record of Canadian
personalities, places, events and achievements, and is the ultimate
statement of national pride." It contains the entire text of the print
and CD-ROM versions accessed by simple & advanced searches and a
- Canadian Information By Subject
Produced by the Library and Archives Canada, this site attempts to
"provide links to information about Canada, arranged by subject, from
Internet resources around the world." The site is arranged by an
"inverted subject tree" which is based by the widely use Dewey Decimal
Classification system. The Subject Tree can be browsed either in
subject order or in alphabetical order. The index terms come from
standard library subject lists. Finally, there is a title index.
- Canadian Social Research Links
"the site was a way for me [webmaster Gilles Séguin] to share
my collection of 1,600+ Netscape bookmarks with others in the social
research community who had Internet access - in government,
non-governmental organizations and academia. I enjoyed it enough to
keep working at it, like the model railroad builder or the stamp
collector, adding bit by bit to the collection. The number of link
pages has since expanded to 200+ and there are now over 20,000 unique
links on the site.."
- Canadian Studies: A Guide to the Sources
"...bibliographic essay originally appeared as "Canadian Studies: A Core Collection," CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries
35 (September 1997): 71-84, and was initially revised in June 1999 for
the International Council for Canadian Studies World Wide Web Service."
- Canadian Studies Catalogue
"...provides up-to-date and comprehensive information about
books that are pertinent and relevant to Canadianists. The books on
this site are published by Ontario-based publishers and have gone
through an assessment process to confirm their usefulness for course
Works with partners "to present Canada's documentary heritage content online." It hosts:
Early Canadiana Online -- " the first large-scale online collection of early Canadian print heritage. It currently offers twelve online collections totalling over three
million pages of digitized content and is continually expanding."
- Canadiana Discovery Portal-- "a free service that enables users to search across the valuable and
diverse digital collections of Canada’s libraries, museums and archives."
Links to a wide variety of resources
- CBC Digitial Archives
Audio and video clips from 1914 to the present. Includes a "For
Teachers" section that provide "educational materials for Grades 6-8,
Grades 9-10, and Grades 11-12. These materials were created to
complement many of the topics posted on the Web site, and include five
lessons per topic, divided by grade level. All educational materials
are available free of charge."
"...your window to the best Web sites about Canadian culture, heritage,
sports and recreation. You'll find links to government programs and
services across Canada."
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
"Each biography in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
reproduces one that was originally commissioned by the Dictionary of
Canadian Biography for its print version and was republished, sometimes
with minor corrections, in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography,
Volumes I-XIV, CD-ROM (2000). The Dictionary of Canadian Biography,
whose first volume appeared in 1966, is a joint project of the
University of Toronto and the Université Laval and presents the work of
researchers and writers in many fields from across Canada and around
- Framing Canada: A Photographic Memory
"Featuring photographs from various public and private
collections, Framing Canada: A Photographic Memory presents a
searchable database of digitized photographic images from 1843 to the
mid-20th century. These images tell the fascinating and ever-changing
story of how Canadians see themselves and their world."
- H-Canada: Canadian History and Studies
H-Canada is the H-Net [Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine]
discussion list dealing with Canadian History and Studies. It provides
Discussion Logs, H-Canada [book] Reviews , Bibliographies, Internet
Sources, and H-Canada Syllabi."
- Inventory of Canadian Digital Initiatives
"provides links to, and descriptions of digitized Canadian resources
created for the Web. These initiatives include digital collections
centred around themes and collections, reference sources, and
- Our Roots / Nos Racines
"This unique, online, coast-to-coast record of Canadian local
histories reflects the breadth and depth of our country's heritage, and
celebrates the diverse landscapes, resources, and people that have
contributed to sculpting its rich and ever-evolving national character.
Our Roots provides universal access to unique materials concerning the
cultural and social heritage of our nation. Written by Canadians, for
Canadians, these local histories represent this nation’s history from
the perspective of those who helped shape it. Now available in digital
format, these resources are not only accessible from anywhere via the
world wide web, but are also preserved for future generations of
students, teachers and researchers."
- Selected Internet Resources: Canada
Part of the Library of Congress' "Portals to the World"
project, this site contains selective links providing authoritative,
in-depth information about Canada's History, Government & Law,
Literature & Culture, News & Current Events, Libraries &
Archives, Business & Residential Directories, and Universities The
links were selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using
Library of Congress selection criteria