The settings for Finding Full Text were recently changed at the end of 2014. If your full text search no longer works please check the page on Setting Full Text Options and make sure your settings have been updated.
EndNote is a reference manager software program that allows you to collect and organize your references and to create bibliographies. It allows you to either type in or capture references from our Electronic Resources. Using EndNote, you can create bibliographies within Microsoft Word or other word-processors. EndNote is able to format bibliographies in almost every conceivable bibliographic citation style, such as APA, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA, Turabian, Science and other journal-specific bibliographic citation styles.
Endnote Basic (formerly Endnote Web) is a free version of EndNote available for institutions which subscribe to ISI Databases, like Web of Science. MSU Libraries does subscribe to Web of Science - which can be accessed from the electronic resources page. Besides being free, the major advantage of EndNote Web is that you can access your account from any computer that has an internet connection (as long as you can access the MSU Libraries' electronic resources). Many users like to try out EndNote Web to see if it will meet their needs before they purchase the regular EndNote software. With EndNote Web, it is possible to share libraries with other EndNote Web users - making collaboration easy. EndNote Web can also work with EndNote so you can move references between the two (version 10 or higher).
EndNote is installed on all of the Windows-based Microlab workstations around campus, including the "Full Set of Applications" workstations in the Library. You may purchase a copy of EndNote for your own computer at the MSU Computer Store.
On a Microlab computer to use Word with EndNote and have the interconnection of the two work together; you must start EndNote first before opening Word. EndNote stores some files temporarily when it opens that Word needs to have the interconnection.
Current MSU students, faculty, and staff can access EndNote Web through the Libraries' subscription to any of the ISI Databases, like Web of Science. Look for the 'My EndNote Web' link in the top right-hand side of any of the ISI Databases. Off-campus access requires a MSU NetID and password.
The first time you use EndNote Web through one of the ISI Databases, you will need to register for a free EndNote Web account. The help screens are very user friendly.
EndNote Web has a roaming profile feature that allows users to log into EndNote Web from a computer that does not have an authenticated session. Roaming is available if you have EndNote Web through an institutional subscription and does not apply if you have EndNote Web from an EndNote purchase. You can roam for twelve months before you need to log in with an authenticated session.
Once users are no longer affiliated with MSU, roaming access for EndNote Web accounts will be valid for 12 months from the date the user last logged into EndNote Web from an authenticated IP address. You can check the roaming status from the Account information option under individual EndNote Web accounts. More information about EndNote Web roaming access: http://www.myendnoteweb.com/help/en_us/ENW/hs_roaming.htm
Once the roaming period is over users will receive a message "Your roaming access has expired" when they sign into EndNote Web. At this point users lose access to all content files (Output style, Import filter and Connection file) available on their EndNote Web account. However they will still be able to access references, groups created by them and shared among them when the roaming has expired.
It is recommended that users change their MSU email address sign-in to a personal email address before moving to another institution. To change the email address, access your EndNote Web account, click on Options>>E-Mail Address.
If users move to another institution with access to Web of Knowledge, please contact Endnote technical support so they can associate the existing EndNote Web account to the new institution.
The newest version of Endnote, Endnote X7, is now available for Windows (the Mac version is coming soon). A free 30-day trial is available for download from the Endnote website. Note: If you purchased version X6 on or after March 21, 2013 you will receive a free upgrade to the new version.
New features include an unlimited number of references in your online library, up to 5 GB of space for file attachments, a PDF auto-import folder, and new reference types (podcast, interview, and press releases).
Endnote now offers a free version of Endnote Web, called Endnote Basic. Free accounts allow up to 50,000 references and have 2GB of storage available. Users can select from the 20 most popular bibliographic styles, perform an online search of 5 popular databases, and use webpage reference capture.
The Thomson Reuters RefScan iPhone App lets you scan a DOI (Digital Object Identifier), access the reference's bibliographic information and times cited counts from Web of Knowledge, and save them to an EndNote Web account.