"This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals."
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Contains digital versions of 150,000 works published or printed from 1701-1800 in England, and other English-speaking places around the world (including the rest of the British Isles, the American colonies, and the early United States). Look here to find full texts of primary source materials in history, geography, literature, language, religion, philosophy, social science, fine arts, music, architecture, medicine, science, technology, and law, as well as general reference works from the 18th century. MSU owns some of the microfilm set from which the database has been made, called The Eighteenth Century (call number 14735).
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO, Early English Books Online, provides digital access to the citations, texts, and illustrations of 106,639 works listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640, (Consulting Ref. Z 2002 .A27 and 1976), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700, (Consulting Ref. Z 2002 .W52 and 1972 and 1994) and the Thomason Tracts, (Consulting Ref. Z 2018 .T49 1977), a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War, 1640-1660. M.S.U. Libraries owns microfilm of this material in these microfilm sets: STC I, STC II, and 14458, respectively, in Microforms/PRR. Search by author, title, keywords, subject, imprint, date, type of illustration, film reel ID number,STC number, source library, language, or combinations. Browse indexes. EEBO TCP (Text Creation Partnership) titles, nearly 5000 in spring, 2004 are also searchable here. These texts are keyed full text so you may search for words within these texts, either alone, or in combination with the other EEBO search elements. Read the directions on the search screens carefully.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is a gateway, or portal, into a variety of primary sources for 19th Century studies, especially of the British Isles. Each resource or database may also be accessed/searched individually.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages." Covers 1789-1969.
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection contains the full text of approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
"(Women and Social Movements) is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The database includes more than 25,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and teaching tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects."
- Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), the full text of serveral historical black newspapers including The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
- Black Thought and Culture
Approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.
- ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital image database containing approximately 400,000 images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
