How do I search for books on my topic?
To search for books in the MSU Libraries on a topic, you will need to use the Online Catalog (MAGIC).
The Online Catalog is a searchable listing of materials owned and
located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journals, government
documents, microforms, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc.
When should I use the Online Catalog (MAGIC)?
- To find whether we own a specific book, including its location and call number
- To browse for books on a topic
- To find whether we subscribe to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper
To search for books placed on Reserve for your class, search by course or instructor.
NOTE: You cannot use the Online Catalog to find individual articles within a magazine--you must use a periodical index for that.
How do I search for articles on my research topic?
To search for articles on a particular topic, you must search a
periodical index. A periodical index allows you to search the contents
of magazines, journals, and newspapers. For more details and
step-by-step instructions, see Finding Periodical Articles in the MSU Libraries.
Need
help choosing keywords and searching indexes? Try: Database/Index
FAQs and Searching Tips
- LION (Literature Online)
Contemporary criticism is available through the MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
(ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from
1920 to current. LION (Literature Online) contains a full library of
up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in
addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the
seventh century to the present day.
- Gale Literature Resource Center
Excellent source for full-text literary criticism from the history of
literature, though in no way as complete an index as MLAIB. Especially
good for biographical material, author bibliographies, and contains
some full-text of contemporary criticism.
- America History and Life
America History and Life provides access to the citations of
contemporary articles (and in some cases, the full text of articles),
book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Contains articles with pro/con viewpoints on a variety of
contemporary social issues including gun control, genetic engineering,
censorship, abortion, and terrorism. Also includes references to
related books and articles on topics of current interest. I include
this resource because of the debate format for certain assignments in
this class.
